Fall 2011 Anime : First Impressions

Please note that this page will be updated constantly as the first episode of the series air. So please check back for updates! =)

This page will contain Morgoth’s and my first impressions of the series of Fall 2011.

The reviews will be brief since we all know that no-one wants to hear a grandmother story about every anime. As such, we will add a link to the proper reviews if we do review that show.

As usual, it would be great to hear what your own First Impression of these shows are as well. =)

Colour Coding:
Saranaufogus’ Review

M0rg0th’s Review

Please refer to our Home Page to see the Latest Reviews.

(The reviews always appear there before getting updated on this page.)

-


-

Fate/Zero

Plot Summary: Taking place 10 years before the events of Fate/stay night, this series chronicles the events of the Fourth Holy Grail War. - ANN

Genre: Action, Fantasy

Saranaufogus’ Review:

If you have not seen the series Fate/Stay Night, you don’t have to worry about the show being something only for the fans. The first episode does a good job with introducing the characters and the premise of the Holy Grail War. I had really found this double-episode long 1st episode to be very heavy on the dialogue and without action so I would warn people about that fact. As this show is still in the plot building phase, that is to be expected. The animation is good overall (although I have my issues with the way some of the characters are animated) and the series looks like it would be an interesting watch.

1st Episode Rating: 6/10 - A lot of potential and I expect this show to pick up once the Holy Grail War starts.
2nd Episode Rating: 8/10 – Was an awesome episode that has pushed this series to the top of my favorite shows of Fall 2011.

M0rg0th’s Review:

Fate/Zero is one of the most interesting series for me so far and I think they did a good job of staying true to the source-material even if that means some discrepancies as some details do get left out due to the anime format. Despite that I enjoyed the episode and it does show already that this series could very well be one of the best in this season due to its detailed setting and its “epic storytelling”. It’s also always nice to see a series that stars adults as its main-cast and dares to be dark and gloomy instead of fluffy and idealistic. Overall it shows once again that Gen Urobuchi is a superb storyteller.

1st Episode-Rating: 7,5/10 - Because I’ve read the Light Novel I know that the start of the show will be very slow but I think it’s detailed fantasy-setting and a very interesting cast make it worth the waiting, I think.

Episode 1 Review

-


-

Hunter x Hunter 2011

Plot Summary: After becoming 12, Gon leaves his home and takes on the task of entering the Hunter exam, notorious for its low success rate and high probability of death to become an official Hunter. He befriends the revenge-driven Kurapica, the doctor-to-be Leorio and the rebellious ex-assassin Killua in the exam, with their friendship prevailing throughout the many trials and threats they come upon taking on the dangerous career of a Hunter. – My Anime List

Genre: Action, Adventure, Shounen

Saranaufogus’ Review:

This was the series that I had been looking forward to all season and it disappointed me. I had found the approach to the remake of this series to be more childish than the original series and too rushed. However, that being said, I have been advised by some of the people who had commented on the review of ep 1 that the series follows the manga plot line closer than the original series. Having not read the manga and having only seen the original series, I personally preferred the original series because of the darker and more “mature” approach the animators had towards the show. Then again, perhaps I may merely be counting my chickens before they hatch since it is only the first episode after all.

1st Episode Rating: 6/10 – I hope that the show will soon ditch its childishness when it starts to dive into the Hunter Exams plot and the characters are forced to mature.
2nd Episode Rating: 6.5/10 - More of the same

Morgoth’s Review:

Of course I didn’t expect it to blow my frigging mind but it should’ve been at least something original and not this… tiring derivative shounen-thingy. I waited the whole episode for something interesting to happen but instead I just watched a boring episode about how important the main-characters are and how virtuous they are and how there will be flashbacks and dark pasts being revealed and big bad dudes popping up… bla bla… Perhaps when HunterxHunter began originally it was interesting but today it’s just a known and tried formula that has been used countless times and isn’t that appealing anymore. Seriously, when Kurapika said that he was the last of his clan which was killed by a group of strong evil dudes – I thought he was joking! It just sounded that ridiculous to me. I really don’t know why one should get excited about this series without already being a fan of the franchise.

1st Episode Rating: 5/10 – This series doesn’t seem to be a really innovative take on the shounen-genre but I guess it has enough charm to be a decent mainstream-shounen-series.

Episode 1 Review

-


-

Phi Brain: Kami no Puzzle

Plot Summary: Daimon Kaito is a high school boy, who loves puzzles. One day, the president of the student council gives him a mobile device and it leads him to an underground ruin buried in the school. He challenges an “insolvable puzzle” hidden in the ruin with his girlfriend Nonoha, but the puzzle turns out to be the dangerous “The Puzzle of Sage” created by the black society “POG”. He manages to solve the puzzle but it’s the beginning of a puzzle battle against POG. - My Anime List

Genre: Puzzle, Action

Saranaufogus’ Review:

This show really does not waste any time. The first episode jumps straight into explaining the plot, the characters as well as creating the world of Phi Brain in the audience’s mind. It basically covers the fact that puzzles are a “big” thing in that world and that Kaito is a puzzle genius. This show is not going to be anything spectacular and it turned out to be what I had expected to be – a easy to watch series revolving around puzzles. Although the series is nothing great, this is probably the best opening episode of a series amongst the ones that I have seen thus far. The biggest downfall of the show are the ugly character designs, I really wished that they would have made the characters look better even if it meant making them look generic.

1st Episode Rating: 6.5/10 - So far, I had gotten what I had expected out of this series and nothing more.
2nd Episode Rating: 6.5/10 – Was entertaining but breaking a puzzle does not equate to having solved the puzzle.

M0rg0th’s Review:

Phi Brain: The Indiana Jones of puzzle-solving… That’s what it is essentially with having an extraordinary genius as main-chara who does stuff at a speed that only a person who read the script can match. It’s a sort of series that will vary greatly between each arc quality as this series depends on its puzzles and how exciting it will be to figure them out alongside the characters of the series. And it does worry me what happened at the end of the first episode where the solution of the puzzle was so obscure that it was just a matter of the plot determining when the main-chara should be able to solve it instead of some thought-through storytelling. While being arc-based the story does seem to begin next week instead of in this episode which makes it a kind of a teaser and it remains to be seen whether this series can hold my interest.

1st Episode Rating: 6/10

Episode 1 Review

-


-

Kimi to Boku

Plot Summary: The story revolves around four teens — the good-looking twins Yuuta and Yuuki Asaba, the effeminate Shun Matsuoka, and the class head Kaname Tsukahara — who have known each other since early childhood. While they are not necessarily good or bad friends, they continue to hang out well into high school. The half-Japanese transfer student Chizuru Tachibana joins the circle of friends in this comedy about the everyday life of adolescence. - My Anime List

Genre: Slice of Life, School Life

Saranaufogus’ Review:

Although the first episode felt a bit bland, the series does show promise. The animation is nice and relaxing with the most annoying part being the girl singing in English towards the end of the episode. The first episode spent a great deal of time introducing the 4 teens and although the story focuses on Yuki (one of the twin) we don’t feel like the rest of the characters are left out as they integrate nicely into the story.

The overall mood of the show is pretty much relaxing and won’t be leaving you in awe. If you are expecting an Usagi Drop quality series, this series will not live up to that expectation. The plot itself seems to have no other direction apart from focusing on the boys and their lives, which is nothing horrible since it is a slice of life series after all.

1st Episode Rating: 6.5/10 – It has potential
2nd Episode Rating: 6/10 – Has yet to realise it’s potential and is currently on the track towards becoming an uninspired anime. Hopefully things turn better soon.

M0rg0th’s Review:

Kimi to Boku is a strange series in the way it does follow a kind of plot but does it in a very directionless and spontaneous way. Things seemingly just happen at a very daydreaming pace without much of a progressive force behind it. The story also has a certain charm by making a circle-like movement in this episode and it really helps to make a seemingly progressive Slice-of-Life-story while also keeping to the parts of the genre that value characterization and ambiance over story. This series does seem mysterious because of that since despite all the charm it possesses it’s quite hard to pinpoint one part of it that’s amazing on its own. Kimi to Boku seemed to me more like a series that was better than the sum of its parts and like that it can become a really interesting slice-of-life-series. The question is only whether the series will continue to use that interesting style shown in the first episode.

1st Episode Rating: 7/10 – As long as it continues like this it can become one of the better series this season for me.

-


-

Chihayafuru

Plot Summary: All her life, Chihaya’s dream was to see her model sister become Japan’s best… That is, until a quiet, unassuming transfer student named Arata tells her otherwise. A dream, he explains to her, is something she needs to work at herself.

Arata plays a competitive version of a traditional Japanese card game–known as Hyakunin Isshu–in a way Chihaya has never seen before. After taking Arata’s place in a game, Chihaya discovers she has a passion for it. Now Chihaya wants to become number one in the world, the Queen of Karuta. - Baka-Updates Manga

Genre: Shoujo, Romance, Competition

Saranaufogus’ Review:

This was one of the series that I had anticipated the most this season seeing as to how the director of the series was to be Morio Asaka, who is famous of many of his other series such as NANA, and show is an adaptation of an multiple-awards winning manga. And the verdict is that the first episode had manage to satisfy my craving for shoujo and have lived up to my expectations. The art is beautiful, the characters are interesting and although I have no clue how this story is going to play out, it looking like it would turn out to be a good watch. The story in the first essentially focuses around the 3 main characters and their connection to the game traditional Karuta which revolves around poems. I am still uncertain about how interesting it would be to watch the characters actually play the game, but I am more than willing to give it the benefit of the doubt that the show will find a way to work itself out.

1st Episode Rating: 8/10 – I’m loving what I am seeing so far and the first episode actually manage to make me feel a connection to the characters which is something I really admire in this accomplishment to connect with the audience in the first 20min of a series.
2nd Episode Rating: 7/10 - Oh those cringe worthy moments with the Karuta game. However, I am a sucker for the romantic shoujo genre and this show is visually appealing and fun to watch. I just can’t wait for it to get to the present time reunion of the main characters.

M0rg0th’s Review:

Right now it seems like a traditional shoujo-series that’s quite good. Chiha is your typical tomboyish girl with her inner beauty and an honest good-hearted directness while her love-interest Wataya has glasses (which means that he’s REALLY intelligent) and they both have a passion for Karuta, a card-game about memorizing poems very fast. The story has a good pace and was structured good despite having two stories run parallel in this episode, one being the beginnings in the past and the other being how the present-day now looks like. This is definitely one of the best series this season so far.

1st Episode Rating: 8/10 – It’s shoujo but quite good shoujo, hopefully its end will be as good despite the fact that the manga is still ongoing.

Episode 1 Review

-


-

C3 – Cube x Cursed x Curious

Plot Summary: A school battle action & love comedy with ecchi elements. Yachi Haruaki is a high school boy and naturally resistant to curses. His father, Honatsu, sends him cursed instruments called “Worse” to try to break this. One day, Haruaki receives a black cube from Honatsu. During the night, he encounters a naked silver haired girl stealing rice crackers. She is the human-form of the black cube, an instrument of torture called “Fear in Cube”. Haruaki and the girl ‘Fear’ fight together against other ‘Worse’ instruments and their owners using Fear’s 32 mechanisms of torture. -ANN

Genre: Comedy, Fantasy, Romance

Saranaufogus’ Review:

What the hell did I just watch?! I am so confused right now it is not even funny.

What is this show meant to be? I feel like I had just witness a hurricane kid that is high on sugar and has just run through my screen. Seriously, I am not even sure if I am meant to be taking this show seriously or if it is just so bad that it is partially entertaining. I can’t get the impression that the animators were tripping while writing the show and that this is meant to be a parody of sorts out of my mind.

The show does not seem to take itself seriously and I honestly don’t know how it expects me to do so. Every point/joke/questionable-remark that was made was made quick and painless and before you can register if it is even funny it moves onto the next thing on the agenda. Perhaps this is meant to be a generic fan-service out of the box anime but when everything is so ridiculous in this show, I could not help but feel that maybe this show is just simply so terrible that it is slightly entertaining.

The animation was another weird thing, it is over stylised and trippy (which oddly suits the anime) and it felt like it was a bad and failed copycat version of stylised series like Bakemonogatari and Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei. Perhaps the animators were trying to make it funky but it sure as hell made me even more confused.

1st Episode Rating: ?/10 – How am I to rate something when I am not even sure what it was that I had just seen. Am I to take it for real? Or is this all just a big joke?

M0rg0th’s Review:

It’s difficult to say what one might get out of watching this series. It’s not a terribly bad series but it’s not a very excellent one either. The first episode introduced the slice-of-life- and humour-aspects of the series and neither of them are really noteworthy as the former is forgettable and the latter cringe-worthy at times. The story is very basic so far but it’s strange that they left out the shounen-aspects of it in the first episode, not that this means it’s any better than the other aspects of the story but I think the action would be easier to stomach than seeing Fiya destroy another flat by being silly and naive. And the animation is weird with the way it chooses its colours and some scene do look strange because of that which questions the intelligence of this visual decision.

1st Episode Rating: 5,5/10 – It’s nothing memorable and it isn’t really clear at this point how the story works on the whole since one of the most important aspects of it didn’t play a role in the first episode strangely.

Episode 1 Review

-


-

Kyoukai Senjou no Horizon

Plot Summary: Set in a distant land, Japan is divided into feudal territories, yet conquered by outside countries, the city Musashi that will ignite the flame of battle is being targeted and has no choice but to keep its people safe by entering this war, with the fate of the world resting on its hands, the students of Musashi may hold the key to victory. -ANN

Genre: School, War

Saranaufogus’ Review:

My interest in this series started with the promotional poster piquing my interest but my hopes were destroyed by the trailers that were released and the only reason why I had forced myself to watch this series was simply because people were watching it and they seemed interested in this show. But what is my take on the first episode? This is a fan-service oriented anime, even if someone is to convince me that the show is meant to have a decent plot I won’t be able to believe them. I can understand a show having to cater to the fans but this went beyond what was polite and the lack of an interesting story does not help. The fantasy style fighting had a gaming feel to it which I felt were somewhat tacky and the overload of rough character introductions meant that all we would get out of the show is a general feel of what we are meant to expect out of the rest of the series. In a nutshell, the story is nothing unique nor interesting enough for me to want to torture myself with more of this show until they ditch the overbearing amount of fan service and adopt a more structured storytelling style.

1st Episode Rating: 4/10 – This is definitely not a quality show.

M0rg0th’s Review:

Storytelling isn’t a mandatory thing to do for a series… at least that’s what this series believes. Because despite that it tries to tell a story with this series – it doesn’t seem to be one directed at the audience. This episode just rushed headless through strange scenes that are only vaguely making sense (Gravity still works somehow, that’s a hint for example…) with very generic-looking shounen-action. And the humour, my god, it’s one of the series that thinks that perverts are the best clowns in the world. The story seems to be too complicated for its own good and the characters seem like a boring cast of stereotypes and yawns. It’s definitely difficult to see this series as anything but cheap entertainment – at best.

1st Episode-Rating: 4/10 - Perhaps if the series would care enough about its story to share it with the audience in a reasonable manner it could become acceptable for me but right now it’s just bad.

Episode 1 Review

-


-

Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai

Plot Summary: Hasegawa Kodaka has transferred schools, and he’s having a hard time making friends. It doesn’t help that his blond hair tends to make people think he’s a delinquent. One day, he runs into his bad-tempered solitary classmate Yozora while she’s talking animatedly to her imaginary friend Tomo. Realizing that neither of them have any actual friends, they decide that the best way to alter this situation is to form a club and start recruiting. That is how “Rinjinbu”, The Neighbours’ Club, was formed, a club specifically designed for people who don’t have very many friends. - My Anime List

Genre: Comedy, Romance, Harem, School

Saranaufogus’ Review:

This episode was surprisingly entertaining. The story is nothing fantastic and it is not going to be something that will have you running to your friends about, but it has a nice lighthearted comedic mood to it that makes it an easy show to enjoy. The whole plot about creating a club to make friends felt a tad lame but I still enjoyed watching the show. Like I had said, it is an easy show to watch just as long as you don’t go analysing it too much. The animation is mediocre and Yozora character looks like her face is squished and distorted at times. My favorite part of the episode has got to be the air-guitar/air-friend notion.

1st Episode Rating: 6.5/10 – I would definitely be watching the next episode to see how this harem series plays out as it was nice to see a show that does not simply revolve around servicing the fans.

M0rg0th’s Review:

“Average. Elements of it seem interesting but when you get down to it it’s just again another series of weirdos exchanging short jokes about pervy stuff, pointless crap and the everlasting question of what exactly normal is now exactly. Add to that the problem of taking itself far too serious with some of the aspects of the series and I need only one word to say what the series needs: Irony. I know it isn’t quite afternoon-anime-material to mock the concept of friendship but at least be ironic about the process of finding friends. The humour of this show tries too hard to stay away from real serious topics like friendship and instead just indulges in making fun of the weirdness of each character (which also aren’t that original except the ‘air-friend’-part).”
- Taken from M0rg0th’s Review of Episode 1

1st Episode Rating: 6/10

Episode 1 Review

-


-

Maji de Watashi ni Koi de Watashai!

Plot Summary: Class F and Class S have one big problem: Love. It’s always a problem and there’s only one way to solve it – they have to beat the crap out of each other! And that’s pretty much what they do the entire episode only to let the war end undecided despite one side winning the battle. The battle is won but the war is far from over and therefore the series continues its great philosophy of solving all sorts of issues by beating the crap out of each other!

Genre: Romance, School Life, Harem

M0rg0th’s Review:

“Let’s be frank: It’s crap. But it’s hilarious to watch this over-the-top crap if one likes to laugh about bad animes. There’s simply nothing about this series to take serious and the fun you get is short-lived/banal or of the mocking sort. But I do ask myself what kind of drugs one has to take to decide that this story warrants an anime.”
-Taken from M0rg0th’s review of episode 1

1st Episode Rating: 4/10

Episode 1 Review

-


-

Maken-ki

Plot Summary: So we have this reheated turd of a main-character meeting up with his childhood-friend to attend a girls-school with a handful of boys where he meets his fiancee which he didn’t know of. He’s also confronted with his strange destiny to beat the shit out of the ultimate evil but a pretentious tsundere didn’t read the script right and thinks she has to fight against him or something but she’s stopped by his pervertedness which she confuses with charm. Therefore the idiot ends up living together with these three girls. And it’s not funny… not one bit.

Genre: Ecchi, Harem, Romance, School Life

M0rg0th’s Review:

“The series starts with the intention to be crap and it doesn’t try to be anything else but crap. The brains of the series went down the toilet when it was decided what to do with this series and what its story should be like. But not only that it’s stupid crap, it’s also shamelessly copying stereotypes of the shounen-genre in the most unimaginative manner thinkable. It won’t get better, so if you think about watching this series – don’t. It’s better for every participant that this series is simply ignored.”
– taken from M0rg0th’s first episode review

1st Episode Rating: 1.5/10

Episode 1 Review

-


-

Sekai-ichi Hatsukoi 2

Plot Summary: Even though Ritsu Onodera hates to rely on family connections, he winds up taking a job as an editor at his parents’ company, Marukawa Books. To his chagrin, he’s assigned to the shoujo manga department in spite of having no interest or experience in it. And on top of that, he has an awful first impression of his high-handed editor in chief, Masamune Takano. What comes after is a story of first love full of tears and laughter. -ANN

Genre: Shounen-ai, Romance

Saranaufogus’ Review

Yay! More Sekaikoi! This show is definitely not for everyone and if you have seen the first season you would know what to expect from the second. Things have not changed much and the animation is still the same old lazy quality that it was in the first season. The comedy is light-hearted and the romance is, well, twisted yet pure (am I even making any sense?) This will most likely essentially prove to be more of the same.

1st Episode Entertainment Level: 7/10

M0rg0th’s Review:

“The first episode did a pretty decent job of portraying a typical shounen-ai-love-story without getting too redundant. But as good as the characterizations are one can’t help himself but feel that the concept of the roles assigned to the characters distract them from following their own path. It’s also apparent that the story reached a point where it should look towards a conclusion but instead it seemingly gets another dozen episodes to do just that. I fear that the story will be too long-winded that way and an OVA with a straight-forward conclusion may have been a better option for this story.”
– taken from M0rg0th’s ep 1 review

1st Episode Rating: 6/10

Episode 1 Review

-


-

Shakugan no Shan III

Plot Summary: Continuing from the events of the last series, both Shana and Kazumi stand at their respective locations waiting for Yuji to meet with one of them, only to discover that Yuji has disappeared, with not even the slightest evidence of his existence left behind. All is not lost however, as the letters the two of them sent to him still give hope of Yuji’s continued existence. As Shana and company search for answers on Yuji’s whereabouts, they soon find the truth staring back at them when Yuji reappears in front of them as the leader of Bal Masqué. Left with little choice, Shana must now confront her most unlikely adversary on the battlefield in her most difficult challenge yet. -ANN

Genre: Action, Romance

M0rg0th’s Review:

“Provided you’re emotionally invested this was a very emotional slow start that reintroduced you to the setting and its characters. While those with lesser interest may feel bored due to the unnecessary slow pacing, in terms of atmosphere it gives a nice overview of what one should expect to see in the coming weeks.”
-taken from M0rg0th’s ep 1 review

1st Episode Rating: 5.5/10

Episode 1 Review

-


-

Ben-To

Plot Summary: Sato Yo is a high school boy who likes SEGA games. One day, he enters a grocery store to buy some food for dinner. When he tries to take a bento box, he loses consciousness. He comes around to find all the bento sold out. He notices there is a war game going on at grocery stores and players called “Wolves” compete for the half-priced bento. Yarizui Sen, the leader of the Half-Pricer Club, forces Yo to join the club and he enters the bento war. – My Anime List

Genre: Comedy, Ecchi, School Life

Saranaufogus’ Review:

The concept of raging war over half-priced bentos from a supermarket baffles me, but this is probably why I can actually laugh at the show. We have an abundance of stereotype female characters who seem to go out of their way to relate to our main character who is actually a pervert. After the first episode, there are too many things that don’t make sense (and I don’t mean that it is unexplained but merely illogical) and I am not sure if they will ever make any sense. The animation of this series is nothing special and the character designs are above average. The up-side to this series is that it seems to have a direction with its plot (albeit it being an odd one) and it might be a good laugh for some.

1st Episode Rating: 4.5/10

M0rg0th’s Review:

“I have to admit that I love ‘weirdness’ as a type of humour and therefore I liked the ideas this series presented. What I didn’t like was how the series despite the way the ideas appeared to be it still tried to be a sort of Slice-of-Life-comedy with a school-setting. It also lacked a convincing plot-hook with the main-character as his actions made as much sense as the fighting in the supermarket. Perhaps it’s slow-paced or it’s simply just my hope that deludes me here but I think this series could be a really good comedy-series.”
-taken from M0rg0th’s 1st Episode Review

1st Episode Rating: 5.5/10

Episode 1 Review

-


-

Mobile Suit Gundam AGE

Plot Summary: UE, terrible inhuman tools of mass-destruction attack Flint’s colony bathing it in the fiery embrace of destruction, hell-bent to leave nothing but ashes behind. As Flint finds his mother lying in the ruins of civilisation and life as he knew it, his dying mother entrusts him with a device that will change Flint’s future – and that of the entire human race.
From then on Flint becomes a boy with a destiny, a mission – and an enemy…
As UE attacks once again trying to burn down his new home to the ground, Flint decides it’s time for humanity to stop burning and fire back.

Genre: Mecha, Action, War

Saranaufogus’ Review:

When M0rg0th had referred to this show as a kiddy Gundam series, I thought he was merely joking due to the promotional posters that were out at that time. But after watching the first episode, I guess he wasn’t. The animation was cartoonish (Flint’s hair looked like a UE took a dump on him) and the themes of this series have been toned down to suit what seemed to be a younger audience. Perhaps the show is merely trying to introduce the younger generation into the franchise and expand it’s horizons but the first episode came across as being immature more than motivational. Also, Flint’s importance in this show doesn’t make any sense. Why would everyone put such a young kid on a pedestal in such an unjustified (as of yet) manner?

1st Episode Rating: 5.5/10

M0rg0th’s Review:

“Overall, the anime may give you enough fun to be entertained on a very cheap level but deep down this is a pretty bad effort of showing the bad sides of war. Instead it gets glorified with an idealized vision of how to make war kiddo-friendly. This is only the start of one of the three stories of this series but its atmosphere doesn’t really put me in a good mood concerning what to expect from this series.”
-taken from ep 1 review

1st Episode Rating: 5.5/10

Episode 1 Review

—-

Saranaufogus: I apologise being so late at updating this page and for the laziness that you can see in the update.

m(_ _)m

I apologise and hope you would check out the individual Episode Reviews to read a more “fuller” version of our thoughts on the series.

  1. what about the anime cube x cursed x curious? :3 THe first episode was cool.

    Like

    • Don’t worry, we cover every series of this new season besides the ones that are objectively crap and those which are too obscure to be even noticed. C3’s first review is online as this is posted ;) . It is a decent series but really bland as far as first impressions go.

      Like

    • Hopefully we will be able to add that to the list later today. =) So like M0rg0th said, don’t worry, we will get to it! So don’t forget to check back. =D

      Like

  2. Morgoth, the recent Hunter x Hunter arc just ended in Japan and seriously– this isn’t your typical shounen. In fact it subverts so many shounen cliches and it’s rather grim, serious and intelligent when it wants to be. Of course, I have no idea how this adaptation will turn out but the source material is a far cry from a derivative shounen. It’s not particularly amazing now but give it some time. :)

    Like

    • Figured as much but… I just didn’t see it in the first episode. There was nothing special about how the first episode was presented. I will stick with it and I do hope that the series will prove my first impression wrong but… my god, I don’t hope they decide that changing it into a derivative shounen-series will do it any good.

      Like

      • I think for now, the fans will be the ones really excited about this series and then if it generates enough buzz people will start looking into it. The start is standard shounen fare but they’ve foreshadowed some things in this episode that probably only fans will catch unto which makes me really excited but I hope they won’t let us down by chickening out.

        my god, I don’t hope they decide that changing it into a derivative shounen-series will do it any good.
        I really hope not! I’ll be glad to take obnoxious light censors rather than watering down the violence and everything else too.

        Like

      • Hunter x Hunter reminds me of Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood, fans of the original series did not really take to the first part of the remake too well, but then things got better later on.

        “I really hope not! I’ll be glad to take obnoxious light censors rather than watering down the violence and everything else too.”

        My worry about HxH is not the plot since we all know what sort of material the show has to work with. But I am also hoping for the same thing as you, I would rather censors than toned down violence. Blood-C was still gruesome even with the censored stuff, at least with the censors, it would give people one more reason to get the DVD/Blu-ray when it comes out.

        Like

  3. I hate to say this but leave Gundam alone it’s almost as redundant as Dragon Ball Z

    Like

  4. Aw, no Tamayura? I’d love to read what you guys think of it. I guess it’s pretty low key, in one way or another.

    Like

    • Actually, I am pretty sure M0rg0th has something to say about that show. =P I will get him to update this review section when he finally has the time.

      Btw, what do you think about the Fall Season so far? Any shows interest you?

      Like

    • I just don’t know what there’s to say about this show, I mean, you either like it or you feel like the series is trying to bore you to death… It has a nice atmosphere and features girls being insufferably nice to each other. Perhaps you like that, perhaps you don’t. But overall, there isn’t much to say about it, I think.

      Like

    • @Saranaufogus
      To be honest, I’ve only watched Tamayura this season. Three of my other anticipated shows haven’t aired, and I refuse to watch Fate/Zero before finishing “Heaven’s Feel”.

      I am actually interested in Chihayafuru after reading your impression.

      @M0rg0th
      Haha. I guess that’s all I get out of that. I love ARIA and I like most of Junichi Sato’s shows. This being pretty similar in mood, I find it quite lovely.

      Like

    • “I refuse to watch Fate/Zero before finishing “Heaven’s Feel””

      Well, what are you waiting for? Finish Heaven’s Feel and then watch Fate/Zero. =P The first couple of eps were good. (Much preferred ep 2 but hey, one can just like one ep and feel partially satisfied with the other when it comes to recommending a series)

      “I am actually interested in Chihayafuru after reading your impression.”

      Well, no harm giving it a shot. But be warned that it is about a Karuta game and is only so much one can do with it. =P

      Like

  5. Wow, if we were to decide what to watch based in your reviews of the 1st episode of the animes this season, all we would watch would be Shojo and shounen-ai anime. Really, is there nothing good at all, in your opinion, for people that dont have interest in that stuff? Shees, please also consider that not all 1st episodes are masterpieces, and people might miss a good anime based on your reviews

    Like

    • Well, like you had said, they were mostly first episode reviews, and some shows did get more interesting in the second episode. =)

      “Really, is there nothing good at all, in your opinion, for people that dont have interest in that stuff?”

      Well, I can’t speak for M0rg0th but this is just how I felt about the shows. I mean, a low rating does not mean it won’t appeal to other people but simply did not seem to appeal to me. If you read the more detailed review for each show you might be able to get an idea of what we did like and what we did not like and judge for yourself as to whether it would be something suitable for yourself.

      When you said other stuff, do you have any genre in mind?

      I mean, Ben-to was interesting and different in its premise but I did find the whole thing to be ridiculous. As for C3, well, it was an interesting watch and I can’t really say if it is any good because I could not tell if the producers were being serious with the show or if they were trying to make it into a joke.

      “Shees, please also consider that not all 1st episodes are masterpieces, and people might miss a good anime based on your reviews”

      Well, it is true that they are not masterpiece that is why we do say that a show has potential despite us giving it a low rating. The ratings are merely for how that episode came across in our minds as oppose to potential since potential is not something that can be rated until it actually happens (that is how I feel). =)

      Like

  1. Pingback: Notes For The Fall 2011 Anime Season Final | Organization Anti Social Geniuses

Please Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 589 other followers

%d bloggers like this: