Ghost Hunt – ep01-25 Review

Ghost Hunt at AnimeNewsNetwork

Have you ever watched an anime that kept making you want to re-watch it over and over again eventhough you know that it is not the best Anime in the world but it just is able to capture your attention because of the way it was executed. From the sound effects to the use of different approaches, Ghost Hunt is the anime that I adore to bits. One of the main reasons might be because it is different.

It is not a happy go lucky anime, and despite its name it is not an anime that is out to scare the crap out of you.

It is an anime with character designs that makes you feel comfortable and at ease, and this contrasts with the spooky background music and the scary-at-times plot. The combination is just perfect in my opinion, and this is probably the reasons why i like it so much, because it is not here nor just, just sitting perfectly on the fence between uncomfortable and comfortable animes to watch.

Shibuya Psychic Research – SPR
It is a business ran Kazuya Shibuya. SPR as the name suggests, specializes in dealing with cases related to phenomenon happenings.

Characters


Taniyama Mai

She is just a normal high schooler who likes to tell the occasional ghost stories with her friend because it is exciting. She is not the brightest, but she is not stupid either. She is basically a nice down to earth girl who gets caught up with SPRC. She broke a camera in the first episode and helps with a ghost case to help ease her conscience. After the first case she was offered a part time job and became part of the team of SPR. She has a crush on Kazuya Shibuya but don’t expect this to be a romance Anime.


Kazuya Shibuya aka Naru the Narcissist

17 year old boss of the SPRC. He is nick named Naru-chan by Mai due to his narcissistic attitude. He is intelligent and good looking and loves to make fun of Mai’s stupidity. Naru is a workaholic and he works non stop be it on off days or even if he is hospitalized. His background is unknown except for the fact that his father is a professor. Even though he seems heartless at times, he shows that he is not as cold blooded as everyone pictured him to be. He is the love interest of 2 of the female characters.


Koujo Lin

Little is known about this man. He is Naru’s assistant plays the role of a guardian at times. He is chinese and a very very silent guy. Plus i think that he is really tall especially when he stands next to Mai. In the first arc he was injured and thus Mai was hired to take his place as being the assistant. But by the end of the first arc he makes a full recovery and Mai gets offered a part time job.


Ayako Matsuzaki & Houshou Takigawa


John Brown


Hara Masako

These few are psychics and exorcists. Ayako is a priestess, and Takigawa is a monk. But neither are your typical priestess and monk characters. John Brown is an exorcists from Australia and Hara Masako is a famous spirit channeler. They were hired by the client in the first arc and were subsequently asked by SPRC to aid in other cases.

—–

Those were the main casts and I think the chemistry between the characters and the behavior of each character complements one another and no one is useless in this anime. Maybe that is why i just love all the cast that make this anime such an enjoyable one. The anime is a arc by arc anime, and each arc is not related to each other. There is little character development except for Mai and this is probably one of the faults. It is more of an entertaining anime than one that is deep and well developed.

Pros

The characters are pleasant
The animation is good
The opening is really good, with its spooky lyric-less music.
Each arc is interesting and captivating
There is a nice balance
I just adore the characters.

Cons
The fact that each arc is slightly too individual. I understand that the show is suppose to be about ghosts and not about love but i would have like to see some development between Naru and Mai.
I also don’t like the fact that Naru’s past is closed by that you dont really know anything about him.
I dont really like the Masako character. she seems spoilt (i know, this is so random. haha)
It would have been better to see a development with a main focus as a overall story rather than just cases one after another.

—-

Overall, i like to eat cornflakes in the middle of the night and watch this anime. ^^
It is entertaining, it can frighten you at times, it can make your giggle at times too. Not too shounen nor shoujo. If there was such a thing as a balanced anime I would list this as one of them.

I would give is a 9/10 just cos i love it so much. But if i were to be fair i would say it is worth 8/10


Osamu Yasuhara

He is my favourite character, too bad he appears only halfway through the series. I think he is so cool and funny. LOL.

Alright then, that’s all for Ghost Hunt.

-ra out! ^^ take care! ghoooost hunt is great! you should reeeeeally catch it!

About Saranaufogus

An Anime fan who can't seem to keep her thoughts to herself. Find me on: Instagram | Twitter

Posted on January 1, 2008, in Ghost Hunt and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. OMMG! I thought noone watched this anime!! I LOVE GHOST HUNT! I say..best anime ever! it so deserves a second season, but i dun think theyre gonna make one anyway

    Like

  2. Lol! i totally love it too! ^^ i hope that there will be a second season. Too many unanswered questions. And the cast is just the best! ^^

    Like

  3. Hahaha! I love Ghost Hunt too!!! I stumbled upon it when my friend brought its manga…woooh! I wanna be such a spoiler right now…but, let’s wait for the sequel, ne?

    LOL! I like Yasuhara too!!! but I love Naru, so… 😀

    Hahaha! hopefully the 10th volume of the manga would come out (if it hasn’t yet) so the season 2 or the OVA or whatever the sequel would be – can be made!!! 😀

    Like

  4. yea!!! i hope that there would be a season 2. ghost hunt was just so nicely done. just the right amount of creepiness and mystery, plus hot characters. yum.

    Like

  5. haha! well said! There’s just so LITTLE detail shown about Naru…T_T

    Like

  6. yupyup, i saw wiki so i kinda know slightly more about Naru’s background but i have not read the manga so yea.. i love the last ep though, his powers were cool.

    Like

  7. yeah!! waaah!!! >,<!!! 😀 you should take a look at the manga… shooot! I want a season two NOW!!! 😀

    Like

  8. lol, so do i!!! dang, you are making me crave for ghost hunt again. Shall have to rewatch it… – goes and dig up ghost hunt anime –
    I am rewatching Hatenkou Yugi right now. It is really good. The plot is alright and everything is really quite average but then for some reason i just can’t seem to get enough of it.
    It just has this special appeal. You might want to check that anime out.

    Like

  9. Will do! haha! thanks for the recommendation! I was looking for another anime to watch too! hahaha!

    Like

  10. xD this is very kawaii xDDD

    Like

  11. I really liked it!!! I like how Monk-san is so protective of Mai. I really hope they make another season, I like these type of stories a lot. And hopefully clear some things up about Naru’s life. I hate it when they have an anime and they don’t finish it……crossing my fingers for another season…please!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  12. WHEN CAN WE SEE >>>>another season…?

    Like

  13. the reason its not to devloped is becuse they do that in the Books the anime is based off of
    the book sieries as well as manga but the books came first
    overall great sieries and I think masico looks like one of the sailor scouts

    Like

  14. I love this anime/manga to peices. Peices. It’s by far my favorite. And I agree, the characters are awesomesauce. I’d just like to say to the con: {I also don’t like the fact that Naru’s past is closed by that you dont really know anything about him.} In the light novels his background is revealed and stuff. Even in the manga it alludes to that. (The manga should really be updated >.<)

    And no one is really supposed to like Masako 😉 LOL, I don't mind her all that much, bt she's too damsel-in-distress for me. Doesn't she faint like every other episode??

    Like

  15. I read these in novel format and liked them so much I decided to take a look at the anime. Good stuff! BTW, the original author of Ghost Hunt, the one who wrote them in the form of novels that the anime is based on, wrote another series called “Twelve Kingdoms” (Juuni Kokki) that also got animated. An absolutely awesome series, and one of the best animes I’ve ever seen. The first 4 episodes are dark, but once you get past them (but they need to be watched to understand the rest of the series) the rest of the series is very good. If you liked Ghost Hunt, I’d recommend 12 kingdoms as well, though it’s more of a fantasy rather than a horror series.

    Like

  16. It is by the same author as Twelve Kingdoms? Did not know about that.
    I have seen TK but I still like ghost hunt alot more. Probably because the characters in ghost hunt seem to have more of a appealing personality to them.

    Not sure about everyone else, but what do you guys think about twelve kingdoms if you have seen it before?

    Like

  17. OMMG isnt masako a real loser or am i imagining it!! i mean she always show herself off and the way she speaks to naru makes me go mad. She suckes and i hate her.
    But i really liked Takigawa alot, he is amazing and cool dont you think so guys?
    I cant wait until they release a second season for ghost hunt. DOES ANYONE KNOW WHEN THEY WILL RELEASE IT ?
    Pleeeeeeeeeeeese tell me if you know cose i cant handle my pationce any more im gonna explode!
    Pleeeeeese i beg you to make a second season for ghost hunt!!!!!!

    Like

  18. This anime is one of the best I’ve ever watched, it’s smart, funny and downright awesome. I got the first volume for Xmas last year, but I NEED the second! By the way… Lin is the best character, no doubt about it.

    Like

    • Lol! I agree that this is one of my all time favourites. Just yesterday, while having lunch with a friend she was talking about how she re-watched Ghost Hunt while she was back in her country on holiday. And we both felt that Ghost Hunt has a charm that makes the rewatch value of this anime very high, plus it has a good balance of everything. =)

      I think my fav character might be Bou-san. He is so not a monk. Either him or Yasuhara. I just love his smart-ass attitude.

      Like

  19. I have to say that John Brown’s accent is absolutely hilarious, loving the extremely broad accent. 😛

    Like

  20. One of the best anime around, and hardly anyone has the means to pick it up to try a few episodes. It blew me away with each passing moment, every episode just amazed me.

    I agree with only the first con you mentioned, because the series just felt like a bit of a cliff-hanger at the end. There is nothing to suggest another season, since most good anime only stop after 1 or 2 seasons. It was not highly advertised and thus only received minimal audiences, and I have not seen netflix stream it yet, which is a huge letdown to a great series.

    Also, Naru’s past is closed because that was what the writer wanted to show, that Naru does not want to share his past with anyone. He wouldn’t be a good “mystery” character if we knew everything about him, and it would actually take up a lot of time just trying to get to know him like that anyhow. It is a great and unique approach that should be praised and not shunned, since Bleach tends to do that to every single character and it makes me not want to watch it, since there is nothing really unique about it.

    Masako is a good character to have along in the series, and even though she does not contribute much to the ghost hunts, she is one that sort of coincides with what Naru seems to look for, and I personally think Ayako is more spoiled than Masako is, but both almost trying to compete with one another, showing off a lot. Both seems to show little to no psychic powers until the last couple of cases, where everyone seems to shine.

    If these cases went more for an actual full-length story, you might not be watching it now. It was designed to give you excitement up until the end of each case, and an actual story would be a waste of space, leading to lots of fillers that Inu Yasha, Bleach, and Naruto are famous for, which is why I choose to watch anime no more than 25 or 26 episodes long now, except for Detective Conan. Story often drags more than not in an anime series, and I think showing little story between cases is a good thing, since it can get right to the action without making you feel like you “have” to get to know the characters and their lives.

    All in all, amazing anime, and a great series of events. I enjoyed it so much, bought a few copies of the S.A.V.E. box set, and am continuing to show the anime to some of my friends little by little.

    Like

  21. I love watching ghost hunt its so good I love my anime so when I show it I fall in love but I can’t understand why he stop making them to he didn’t why is they not more after 25 if he has why can’t someone else take over but keep in mine what he was trying to get at I just hate when a anime or manga just stops maybe its silly but it’s doesn’t feel right

    Like

  22. Usually I do not learn article on blogs, but I would like
    to say that this write-up very pressured me to try and do
    it! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thank you, quite nice article.

    Like

  23. Valuable info. Lucky me I found your website by chance, and I’m stunned why this twist of fate did not happened in advance! I bookmarked it.

    Like

  24. You are so cool! I do not believe I’ve truly read something like this before. So good to discover someone with a few genuine thoughts on this subject matter. Really.. thanks for starting this up. This website is one thing that is required on the internet, someone with some originality!

    Like

  25. Appreciating the dedication you put into your website and in depth information you offer.
    It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same
    old rehashed information. Wonderful read! I’ve saved your site and I’m
    including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    Like

  26. Thank you, I’ve just been searching for info about this subject for a while and yours is the greatest I’ve came upon till now.

    However, what in regards to the bottom line? Are you certain concerning the
    source?

    Like

  27. Hello! I realize this is somewhat off-topic but I had to
    ask. Does operating a well-established blog such as yours take
    a massive amount work? I am brand new to writing a blog
    however I do write in my diary everyday.
    I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any kind of suggestions or tips for new aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

