5 Centimeters Per Second

5 Centimeters Per Second on ANN
5 Centimeters Per Second Wins at Italy’s Future Film Festival
Trailer of 5 cm per second

There are so many nice anime out there. But this one takes the cake when you talk about beautiful animation and a storyline that can leave you breathless.

5 cm per second is a bittersweet love story about 2 people. It comprises of 3 short stories told at different points in their life. The distance between them and their yearnings.

Having such a touching song to accompany such beautiful animation makes this anime unforgettable.

I love Makoto Shinkai’s work. The scenery, the pace, the story, everything about it makes me feel all warm and fuzzy on the inside. It is just brilliant.

If you are looking to relax, and enjoy a piece of art, 5 cm per second would be my recommendation to you. A masterpiece.

I am not one for sad or bittersweet stories, but this works out so well that well… you will love it.

I can’t get anymore direct than that.

But i have to say that this is not an anime for people who love watching fast pace action movies.


Just look at how lovely and colorful the animation is.

Rating? 9.5/10
The last short story is a little slow for my liking, and I am not a fan of “sad” anime. (i dont like being sad.)

I would definitely say that this would be an anime worth getting on DVD (or HD DVD, if you have the player)

5 cm Per Second on HD DVD

-ra out

About Saranaufogus

An Anime fan who can't seem to keep her thoughts to herself. Find me on: Instagram | Twitter

Posted on March 15, 2008, in 5 Centimeters Per Second and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. yeh , i especially love the second story of that surfing girl , she reminds me of myself in the young age XD,,
    and yeah, it is an awesome piece

    Like

  2. thx for editing hah

    Like

  3. haha, i love the second story too!!! i thought that it was soooo sweet and nice and sad. sigh…

    Like

  4. the second story gave me that heavy feeling than the last.

    Maybe I was spoiled by the MV.

    Like

  5. i felt so weird after watching this heart-wrenchingly beautiful movie. i even made a poem about it. def one of my faves foreveer

    Like

  6. i got the same feeling too… I’m in the situation right now… it hurts you know haha LOL! xD

    Like

  7. I personally loved the first story more…

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

