Monochrome Factor – 01

Episode 1 – Silver-Colored Shadow

Akira Nikaido is a typical slacker high school student who thinks he has a normal life–until a mysterious man called Shirogane appears and tells him to meet him at the school that night. He is skeptical but goes anyway…and gets attacked by a shadow monster! Shirogane convinces him that the balance between the human world and the shadow world has been distorted, and that Akira must become a shin–a creature of the shadow world–in order to help restore the balance.
-AniDB.net

Alright, if you were expecting to watch a boys anime (shounen) then I would have to say that guys might not wanna watch this. It is a boys anime alright, but I mean it in a different way.

Unless you are alright with guys kissing each other, I would say guys, hands off this.

Summary

Akira plays the guitar and is a slacker. In school, he is constantly being chased(more like wacked) around by a girl who wants to bend him into shape. The plot starts off this way.
It then progresses to you seeing Shirogane.
Akira meets Shirogane in the middle of the street and they engage in a weird dialogue that makes Akira doubt if it ever happened in the first place.
Cut to him going out at night and ending up in school where the fighting starts.
There are monsters in school and he and his 2 friends are getting attacked by them.
Shirogane appears and continues talking to him saying how it is fate that brought them together (yea right) and he basically tries to “charm” Akira into fighting.
Akira runs scared(which sets everything into motion), and in order to fight to stay alive he has to become a shin.
-magical kiss scene-
-fight-
Shirogane then tells Akira that he cannot change back into his human form anymore, and said that if they kissed he just might turn back.
And of course he turns back. (I can’t remember if they did kiss)

Overview

Negative

Firstly, the plot is not even strong enough to entertain the audience.

Secondly, this seems like a bad rip-off from Loveless.
Some random guy comes up and pulls the main lead into a whole big mess (sounds pretty standard shounen doesn’t it?), but wait, get this, the way to ‘acitvate’ his powers/shadow thing (i think) is by kissing him. I have no idea if the freaky guy(silver hair) kisses the main lead out of pleasure or necessity.
Okay, so fine, it *might* not be like loveless, but it sure reminded me of lovelss.

Thirdly, the animation is mediocre. The aciton scenes are not even exciting.

Fourthly, the plot is somewhat boring and a mess.
It tries to sound sophisticated and dense with its play on the idea of shadows and weird things, but it just comes off as cheesy and common.

Fifth(ly?), the characters are very normal and standard as well. (The silver hair dude gives me the creeps. =_=! he reminds me of a transvestite that stalk the streets at night waiting to eat some poor young boy. (no offense to transvestites. the character just looks plain freaky.)) There is nothing special with the character design and personalities.

Okay, if that is not enough to put you off the anime then watch the first episode. Fine, since I manage to watch till the end of the first ep, it is probably not all THAT bad.

Positive

1) BL fans might… and I repeat.. MIGHT get a very very small small happy moment from watching the guys lock lips. (even then you see nothing but a fade out)

2) The story is acceptable, it will not make you run away, but this series does not stand out.

3) It has its cute moments. (I just can’t connect with the characters so I don’t “feel” those moments)

Here are some screen caps

Alright, look closely! Does the silver hair guy look weird??? He has lipstick and a very very flat face. (I know most characters do, but this looks flat like the pancakes that I have for breakfast (and probably will not have ever again.))

The fade out kissing moment that I was talking about just now

A fighting scene

Before writing this review I was contemplating if I should even write one.

Bottomline

There are anime that make you want to come back for more.
There are anime that have a lousy plot but just has a weird charm to it that makes you want more.
And then there are anime that you know are good but can’t seem to like.

Sad to say, it is none of those.
It is more of a weird feeling. Everything is really ‘okay’, not bad enough to make you discontinue watching it, but not good enough to make you have the motivation to want to watch it.

Even though I was looking forward to this anime this season, I can’t say that I do anymore.

P.S.: Sorry about the bad screen caps, I just can’t seem to capture a nice moment for some reason. It is always either fading in and out or just them standing there doing nothing.

-ra out

About Saranaufogus

An Anime fan who can't seem to keep her thoughts to herself. Find me on: Instagram | Twitter

Posted on April 8, 2008, in Monochrome Factor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. haha um….this show he….i deleted it after i watched it . wasn’t really my cup of tea .speaking of this anime season i found that alot of the shows has fanservice ^_^

    Like

  2. yup, you are right… there is quite a bit of fanservice. ^_^ which is a great thing! haha

    Like

  3. As a fan of the manga I was rather horrified by the direction they’ve decided to take with the anime. In the manga Shirogane’s somewhat like Himura Kenshin…sanguine, polite, secretive, and strong. But in the anime he’s just…scary. In any case the target audiences between the two media are completely different. But I still plan to watch the anime and see how it plays out.

    Like

  4. LOL, i totally agree with you on the scary part. I don’t know anything about the manga though (as I have not read it). I guess this could be one of those classic cases where an anime adaptable of the manga fails. o well… ^_^

    Like

  5. Lo0o0oL it’s totally Awesome…. 😛
    Waiting until it Subbed 😦

    Like

  6. sold must watch more

    Like

  7. There is only ONE thing that i liked about this anime, and that’s the first 40 seconds of the OP. Yes, not the OP, but the first 40 seconds of it. And that’s that. Seriously. This anime is so bad, and even if it has guys kissing (and I’m a major BL fan) it just doesn’t interest me. The characters are utterly dull and cliché, the storyline is stupid and the ‘handscene’ at school when shirogane tells akira about fate is definitely from the first episode of Loveless when Soubi and Ritsuka are on the bench/table and kiss. And I seriously hate the girl, she is LOL SEE ME RAGING AND HITTING YOU AND SCREAMING 90% of the time. This is the first anime that makes me hate all the characters. There is not ONE character I did like. And the art sucks.

    Even if I only saw 2 episodes, I have lost my interest in this anime. The only reason I continue watching this is because it has kissing boys and we need moar or that in anime…but Princess Princess had kissing boys too, and I stopped watching it at episode 6, because it was very boring. Ah well…I hope this anime will get better soon.

    Like

  8. The manga was way WAY better…
    By the way, this anime was directed by the same director who did Loveless, so i guess no surprises here.

    Like

  9. aaa… not wonder.. but Loveless was wayyyyyy better.

    i have ep 2 sitting on my harddrive and i cannot bring myself to even watch it. =_=

    Like

  10. i agree. im desperate for BL anime but im not that desperate. yes i am. LOL. anyone know of any anime that has major BL suggestive content? an anime that you think i wouldnt possibly know about?

    Like

  11. lol, well, for the currently airing ones then it is probably just junjou and kyou kara maou. ^^ nabari no ou might interest you too.

    Like

  12. well, I actually am loving this anime! I love the characters, and I am always laughing of the unexpected random moments that are always appearing! I liked loveless (not loved it to the death, just pleasant like it) and I must say that I cannot understand why do you ppl are talking so bad about it.
    Although I am considering not reading the manga, since I heard that it has no kiss (it was really shocking that scene, I would have never guessed it! I had to stop and call everyone saying “That anime doesn’t have hints!! It has shonen ai!!!”)
    So I am liking it a lot, it hasn’t have a single weak personality character so far! I even like the female character (Which is rare).
    Well, that’s all, kind of slightly touched a nerve just reading awful reviews of such a cool anime.

    Like

  13. I don’t get what you guys think is so bad about it. I love this anime the characters are interesting it’s funny when least expected and the story line may be outrageous or unrealistic but that’s why it’s interesting. I have been looking for some interesting animes that can actually make me laugh. Oh so what they kissed the scene barely even bothered me. I think it would have been fine without it though. But acting gay is part of the guys personality shir-somthing. I don’t get it what is there to hate?

    Like

  14. It’s funny too. I used to be a BL fan, I grew out of that silly phase, but I did still enjoy it for being a romance type. (I’m not obsessed with boys kissing, it’s a lifestyle. I just don’t care. I find girls who squeal at such things scary Oo). I found Loveless to be sick and disgusting, and mildly freaky, so no wonder I found the anime of this to be strange as well. I ADORE the manga to this. It’s funny, it’s cute, and the characters are pretty ok. It had none of this shonen crap that was thrown in to the anime. I was shocked watching this, and very dissapointed. Makes me wonder, does the author watch the show being made, and do they have any say in what’s going on, because if so, I’d like to go and smack them around a bit. The manga wasn’t all that well rounded with a plot, by no means, but it was still a good read.

    Like

  15. well i did liked it..
    i love femenine boys after all so the art is a totally 10/10 for me

    Like

  16. I say that if the anime is so different from the manga, then you can’t compare the two. I love both, and I think that Shirogane is totally awesome and I think he should exist in real life so people can experience him. I think it would be funny. ^^ Anyway, the reason why they made some of the episodes random and kinda unessesary(sp?) is because the manga is short and the plotline moves kinda fast. I love both equally. And my favorite character is Shirogane, thank you very much to those who think him creepy!

    Like

  17. I think it’s a really cool anime! ^_^ and i liked the kissing scene alot!! pitty they didn’t show more of it… cause i like shounen-ai (but of course also death note & bleach & fruit basket etc.) aldo i have to say that the episodes are a bit the same, there’s always someone who’s getting posesed by a demon and most of the time you already now who it’s going to be this time 😄 but it always is funny so that doesn’t bothers me!……… and now i have to wait till ep 18 is finally getting (english) subbed… -_- BTW i LOVE shirogane he’s so weird and cool and funny and…. yeah

    Like

  18. i dont seem to like this anime since the 1st time i watched it…it’s totally different from the manga, the original plot, i hate it when they ruined the original plot in the anime, it was a total messed up, so scary, creapy, but funny tho LOL.. I was hoping the anime would have kewl fighting scenes like the manga does but..it was so so SO disappointing!! im ok with shounen-ai, but when it said ‘shounen’ in the manga, just make it shounen in the anime too, gaah!! what a twist..
    —____—

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

