Sekaiichi Hatsukoi Review

Am finally back to watching anime again… perhaps it is the upcoming season of Natsume Yuujinchou (who’s looking forward to it?) or Nurarihyon no Mago, but whatever it is, this is the first anime in awhile that I after sitting down and watching one episode, I could not bring myself to stop watching.

Summary

Even though Ritsu Onodera hates to rely on family connections, he winds up taking a job as an editor at his parents’ company, Marukawa Books. To his chagrin, he’s assigned to the shoujo manga department in spite of having no interest or experience in it. And on top of that, he has an awful first impression of his high-handed editor in chief, Masamune Takano. What comes after is a story of first love full of tears and laughter. -ANN

The Experience

Lets put it this way fellow friends, after being out of touch with anime for so long and no longer in the mood for Yaoi/BL anime (even going as far as finding it unbelievable that I could have gone crazy nuts over Junjou Romantica not too long ago), this anime got me rewatching Junjou Romantica and hooked on anime again.

There is something simple and pure (perhaps pure might not be the best choice of words) about this anime. Perhaps it is the atmosphere of the anime, perhaps it is the truth of how love can be complicated when it comes to simple things (as compared to those many other romance stories about a rival love etc. sometimes it is just the simplest things that can hurt someone and create that distance.)

My favourite pairing has got to be Ritsu x Takano, there is something about them that makes me go “KYAAA” on the inside.

If you are thinking that this is just all about romance the way Junjou mainly was, then you would be wrong. Whilst the main focus is of romance there is still substance behind it. As a person who does not know how manga comes about or how hard the editors work or the role they play in creating these mystical books, this anime gave me some insight. As to how close to reality this new found insight might be? I can’t say. But I reckon there is some truths behind it. Especially the stress that all those characters go through. Now every time i read a manga, I think of what the sensei went through creating it and which part of it was original and which part was input from the editor.

Right now, this is helping me cope with the waiting period between now and Natsume Yuujinchou Season 3!

Rating: 7.5/10

Recommended to: Personally, I highly recommend this anime. It is a easy watch as long as you dont mind the yaoi/BL themes in it. Though not as funny or creative or interesting as many other anime, there is something that attracts you to the characters, the same way Junjou Romantica attracted many. If you are looking for a proper anime which will show you some industry insights then watch Bakuman instead. I can’t seem to watch too many of that anime episodes in one shot but it is really popular and greatly loved, but thats another review altogether.

Go watch it and let me know what you think of it! =)

-ra out!

About Saranaufogus

An Anime fan who can't seem to keep her thoughts to herself. Find me on: Instagram | Twitter

Posted on June 23, 2011, in Anime, Sekaiichi Hatsukoi and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I think this is amazing! I looked forward to watching the latest episode every week. Its very similar to Junjou Romantica (which I also found myself glued to). i agree with the favourite pairing being Ritsu x Takano, there is something about them that makes me go “KYAAA” on the inside too. I Thought ti was cute ^.^ Some BL animes can come across as quite cheesy or overdone but I think this was well made. I really looked forward to the second season. I actually find myself rewatching both this and Junjou Romantica when there is a space between animes being released.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

