Just doing the introduction-thing, you know…

“It is absurd to divide people into either good or bad. People are either charming or tedious.” – Oscar Wilde

As some might’ve seen this blog has another writer who will add his opinion to the whole anime thing. The first thing that you’ll probably think right now is: “Did this guy just talk about himself in the third person?” And I can answer: “Yes he did!” If you’re now curious what sort of person would write and say stuff like that, read on 😉 …

So… let’s start with the basic stuff. My name is M0rg0th (obviously not my real name) and I come from Germany. I study German literature but (also obviously) like to concern myself more with the English language in my freetime just for a change of mood.

I actually came here because I was disappointed with Blood-C and I searched the internet for reviews that weren’t as negative as my judgement of the series. But it seems like the greater part of the blogosphere really doesn’t like it (for obvious reasons, I think). After a few more episodes I began to think of Blood-C as a campy “So bad that it’s good”-series and made jokes about it, some of them here. They were funny (at least I hope so, otherwise I was just hired as a writer because of bad jokes). After some time Saranaufogus offered me to write for her blog and I said “Okay.” because it seemed like a neat idea to blog about animes and how bad (or good) they are. So, I want to talk at first about my anime experience…

Animes:

I’ve been watching animes for six years now. And currently with the animes I’m watching right now I’ve watched over 700 animes until now (find me at Anime-Planet if you like). One interesting thing about statistics is that they are mostly exaggerated. I don’t think that I watch animes any different than someone who has just seen a dozen animes. The times when I do see things a bit different than the one who has just seen a dozen animes it’s because the guys behind the anime got lazy and just seemingly followed a copy/paste-philosophy with their anime. Yeah, I hate stereotypes – and they really start to get on your nerves when you’ve seen them literally a few hundred times.

One thing I always like about animes is when they really try to be unique. This can already start with a strange animation-style and end with such subtle things like an atmosphere that one experiences very seldom in animes. It’s animes like Kaiba and Yojouhan Shinwa Taikei that land on my favourites-list that way.
Another thing I really like are animes that try to tell stories like a novel would do. There aren’t that many animes anymore that give me this feeling of good storytelling like one might expect in a novel. One thing is a long time-period that the anime tries to cover with its plot, another is that characters really develop on a essential level as complex persons instead of the typical tropes you can see for most of the characters nowadays (don’t worry they had those boring character-stereotypes from the beginning and luckily some have disappeared since then). Monster did a good job of giving me this feeling and Legend of the Galactic Heroes is the only anime I’d legitimately call a real Space Opera.

Other favourite animes of mine are Ghost in the Shell (just take the whole franchise here except the second GitS-movie), Yojou-han Shinwa Taikei, Mouryou no Hako, Serial Experiments Lain, Texhnolyze, Kino’s Journey and Samurai X: Trust and Betrayal.

The black sheep of my favourite anime that is debatably one of them is “The Big O”. Seriously it’s a weird series with an even weirder plot and characters totally untypical for an anime but I just like the humour and the strange plot of this series. And my love for Akagi and One Outs is probably very debatable, too.

“I suppose society is wonderfully delightful?”
“To be in it is merely a bore. But to be out of it simply a tragedy.”

Other Hobbies:

Of course I do also other things in my freetime besides watching animes. I read a lot of books (my e-book-reader has currently something around 350 books on it) with my favourite genre being fantasy and sci-fi. My favourite books or series of them are: “A Song of Ice and Fire” from George R.R. Martin, the “Overworld”-series from Matthew Wooding Stover, the “Dresden Files” from Jim Butcher, “The Black Company”-series from Glen Cook, “The Night’s Dawn Trilogy” by Peter Hamilton, “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy”-series from Douglas Adams, “Lord of the Rings” from J.R.R. Tolkien and “The Shadow of the Wind/Angels Game” from Carlos Ruiz Zafon. Concerning high literature my favourite authors are E.T.A. Hoffmann, Nietzsche and Oscar Wilde.

I play video-games fairly regularly on my PC with my favourite games being Portal 1 and 2, Mass Effect 2, Dragon Age: Origins, Planescape Torment, The Witcher 2: Assassin of Kings, Sacrifice, The Longest Journey.

And I also played Warhammer Fanstasy and 40k Tabletop for some time and I’ve done my share of spending evenings playing some Pen&Paper-RPG’s like Dungeon&Dragons or Mage: The Ascension and so on.

Yeah, I have a history with nearly every nerdy hobby you can name. Well, anyway, I think that should give a short impression of what kind of stuff I’m doing in my freetime and where my likes and dislikes lie in that respective areas of hobbies. If you want to know any more than that, just ask in the comment-section, I may or may not answer depending on your question (yes, it’s just *that* kind of Q&A).

And there’s just that point now where I shamefully admit that I’m happy to be here and hope to write long reviews about hopefully good animes for a long time to come on this blog.

“Let us think the unthinkable, let us do the undoable, let us prepare to grapple with the ineffable itself, and see if we may not eff it after all.” – Douglas Adams

About M0rg0th

We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars.

Posted on August 11, 2011, in Randomness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please Leave a Reply

