Mawaru Penguindrum – 14 Review

I was told that having someone stare at my back as I walked away made me look cool

Episode 14 – Princess of Lies

OMG WTF?! (O_O)

I am glad that this episode had ended at where it did if not I may have screamed. I am just hoping that someone would burst in at the last minute and stop the madness if not… there goes my limit of being able to accept what I see on screen.

Oh Ringo, you poor little thing. T^T I really pitied her but she looked so ugly when she cried that I actually laughed =_=”

Review + Episode Summary

I finally found the time to watch and review this episode of Mawaru over the weekend. I was tempted to let M0rg0th review this episode instead but after watching it, I have to rant.
So please be warned that this review is not going to be some analytical review on the things that happened. =)

One can’t help but feel sorry for Ringo. This is probably the first time I (and probably some of you) would feel pity for this girl. She had started off as an annoying brat and over the last few episodes we have seen her mature into an understanding person. Sadly, as life has taught all of us, good guys finish last. But in her case, things are slightly worse – she is in danger of getting raped.

I really welcomed this change in the mood of the episode. The last couple of episodes have been rather heavy handed on the symbolism and revelations when it came to the atmosphere of the show (and in the process it had burned my brains out) but this episode has settled back into a more “normal” story-telling style (or as normal as things can get for Mawaru). We still have our fair share of revelations and what-ifs but at the same time watching this episode did not require as much brainpower as the previous few.

First thing about the show that I could not help but laugh at was Yuri’s co-star’s eyes. I mean seriously, she looks ridiculous and it was hilarious. I, for one, no longer feel shock with the revelations that this show throws at us, so when it was revealed that the co-star was actually a girl, I was pretty much fine with it.

The episode takes a turn and places a larger focus on Yuri whilst also disclosing the fact that Yuri is in fact the 3rd party after the book. (Which we are still unsure as to what it really is). Now, this show has had its fair share of ridiculous and forbidden love as well as an not-so-secret obsession about going against fate. So it should not have come as a surprise to us that our dearest Yuri is infact obsessed over Momoka (was that girl made of gold or soemething?) and does not want to believe that Momoka is dead. This show is simply full of loonies that have crazy denial issues. As such, Yuri has decided turn into a 2nd Ringo by trying to rape poor Ringo after drugging her in hopes of turning Ringo into Momoka through some sick twisted method. I am jumping the gun here by saying she is going to rape Ringo since she just merely wanted to destroy and scar Ringo. Then again, when you undress a person whilst holding a red (fate?) rope, the first thing that comes to mind is “Rape Alert!” destiny or not.

My guess about Yuri is that Yuri is a guy or a person who has both sets of sexual organs. It seems like this episode has dropped enough hints about Yuri having some sort of physical disfigurement as well as hints about gender. If it were any other show, I would say that my imagination was running wild, but with a show like this, the most ridiculous thing is most likely the right thing.

The start of the episode was dramatic and hilarious (at least I found it funny) but I am happy that even at that point in time, the show did not hold back its punches and continued it’s trend of hint dropping whilst broaching the subject of the show’s main theme of fate, love and destiny. This episode has made me curious about the reason behind the fixation with the word “Fabulous”. First it was the use of Fabulous Max, then we have Fabulously and Fabulous this and that. Is this just a character trait/quirk or is this meant to lead to something more?

The show has already developed its main themes and it is safe to say that everything in this show revolves around 4 things – Past, Love, Bonds and Fate. I do love the fact that everything seem to tie back to these few themes but at the same time I really respect a character like Ringo who breaks away from all of those. She had started off as the main spokesperson for those themes but over the last few episodes, she has become her own person who no longer fights against the tide of things. Kudos to her! The only thing is that sadly for her, the people she surrounds herself with are like druggies hooked on those themes and they are bound to destroy her sooner or later. If this episode is any indication, it would be sooner rather than later.

Shouma really got on my nerve this episode. I don’t hate the guy because I understand where he was coming from, but he really laid it on thick with the whole “wallowing in self-pity” attitude. He had previously scolded Ringo for being selfish but now, he is the one who is acting selfish. I hope that he would snap out of this “I am cursed” attitude soon because I actually liked his character – he was the adorable nice normal guy character in my eyes.

We are also introduced to a totally different side of Sanetoshi. He is like the cold-hearted business man with too much money on his hands and decides to toy with everyone. We all know that he is merely trying to see if fate can be changed, but I really do pity the amount of pain Kanba goes through to help his sister. Then we have Natsume who is also trying to help Mario and Sanetoshi is essentially playing God.

Other notes on this episode and Mawaru Penguindrum in general:

  • We see the effects of last couple of weeks’ revelation coming into play with Ringo and Shouma’s confrontation
  • I am glad that almost all the main characters are now taking front stage
  • The past between Yuri and Momoka is still unknown
  • Yuri and Tabuki seem to have some sort of pact and unknown motive for being together
  • The poster of the Yuri’s play says “The Tragedy of M” – what is M? There is a constant pumping out of materials hinting at M yet no explanation of it yet
  • Penguindrum has yet to be explained
  • What exactly is the diary?
  • Ringo is hinted at being an exact duplicate of Momoka – actions are the same, even the look and the “aura” given off is the same. Is she a clone?
  • More appearance of twins again with the bunnies in the doctor’s room and the twins that follow Sanetoshi around.
  • Is there something more to Himari’s fixation with her friends? Does she resent her parents for what had happened or is she merely reminiscing the past and wishing things were different?
  • What is the Natsume Clan and why does Kanba hate them?
  • Where is Kanba getting all the money from and who are the men in black?

Episode Rating: 8/10

Overall with was another good episode of Mawaru despite it’s craziness. (It seems like it is going to be a tradition that something crazy will happen whenever Ringo is involved. She is a magnet for drama) I am hoping that the next episode will have Natsume crashing the party in search of the diary and Ringo is left unscathed because it would be really pushing the line if Ringo did get raped and I personally would find it too uncomfortable to watch on.

-ra

P.S: Why did they have to change the ED song? Sigh. I liked last week’s one.

About Saranaufogus

An Anime fan who can't seem to keep her thoughts to herself. Find me on: Instagram | Twitter

Posted on October 16, 2011, in Anime, Mawaru Penguindrum, Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. FUKKIN’ FABULOUS. FAB’ MAX!!! 😛

    Like

  2. I was waiting for this rant, I saw this like two nights ago, and just stared at the screen going WTF O_o. I’m gonna call it a horrible episode, not because of the quality, but because they really darkened the plot on this one. The beginning I kind of laughed when we find out that Yuri was with the actress for two reasons, the first thought was “skank” and then the second was, “oh crap, Ringo was right about her.” Of course after that it just kinda spiraled out of control with Shouma being a prick, and Kanba being super shady, like you mentioned.

    As soon as I saw Yuri pick up Ringo, I thought something crazy was going to happen, but I didn’t expect the drugging or the diary to pop up. I did pick up on Yuri’s suggestion that she may have some extra tools to work with, but it’s hard to say for sure without them explicitly writing it into the script. I will say that was in constant fear that at some point she was going to “whip it out.”

    The entire episode, up until the end I felt bad for the teacher because of how it seemed like he was being played, on top of the fact that he attracted not 1, but 2 crazy girls of this series. By the time Yuri described Momoka in the same was the teacher did, it seemed like there was a bit more going on between Yuri and Momoka, and then when she joked about the marriage being a front, I really couldn’t help but wonder if the show was trying to imply that Yuri, Momoka and the Tabuki had some kind of sexual relationship going.

    Last thing, I really hope someone saves Ringo, even though she essentially tried to do the same thing to Tabuki with her frog magic, I don’t think she needs to get whatever Yuri has planned for her to balance that part out, I think she’s actually a likeable character lately, now that she isn’t being a creeper.

    Ironic side note, the episode of Kamisama dolls that ended essentially in the same manner also had me worried about what they were going to do to that character, and it isn’t necessarily because of the character. Both that show and this one had enough crazy plot elements to make it conceivable that they would actually go through with it and not save her, which is something that you don’t normally get from most anime.

    Like

    • “I was waiting for this rant, I saw this like two nights ago, and just stared at the screen going WTF O_o.”

      I was holding it off so I could review other stuff first since I know that this series usually drains all the energy out of me. But this episode was just, w.t.h.

      “she may have some extra tools to work with,” , “I will say that was in constant fear that at some point she was going to “whip it out.””

      LOL! I know! I thought it was going to happen right before the episode officially ended. If it did happen I might have screamed at the top of my lungs. It was way too much for me to see her even try to rape the girl as a female but if she had an extra set of equipment, that is just plain “mind blowing” for all the wrong reasons.

      “The entire episode, up until the end I felt bad for the teacher because of how it seemed like he was being played, on top of the fact that he attracted not 1, but 2 crazy girls of this series.”

      Well, he himself seems to have some mystery shrouding him with the fingers and all. Plus like you had said there could be something going on between the 3 of them.

      “I really couldn’t help but wonder if the show was trying to imply that Yuri, Momoka and the Tabuki had some kind of sexual relationship going.”

      I doubt that was the case. They were like 10 for god sakes! It cant be true. That would be plain sick and probably impossible. Then again, I am no guy.

      “Last thing, I really hope someone saves Ringo”

      I mean, she never really went through with the things she wanted to do to Tabuki. I think the thing is that if a girl rapes a guy it is fine, if a guy rapes a girl it is a big no no… but what if a girl rapes a girl or if a girl with 2 sets of sexual organs rapes a girl? i think that that is just too weird to contemplate but we had better start considering the possiblity since it is Mawaru. It would plain sad for Ringo because she finally has someone she really likes and to get “destroyed” in that way would be too sad. I hope it is something else all together since Yuri did have red rope in her hands. Maybe it is a bondage fetish?

      “Both that show and this one had enough crazy plot elements to make it conceivable that they would actually go through with it and not save her, which is something that you don’t normally get from most anime.”

      Please god no… I actually like this show and don’t want to be turned off by it.

      Like

  3. Hey,

    That type of acting that Yuri does is actually all female cast (forgot the name, sorry) so it’s been known that Tsubasa is a woman since episode 7 when she was introduced. It’s probably something that’s much harder for non-japanese to pick up on since the jap audience already know. Anyways, that particular thing wasnt a plot twist (but that they were having an affair was).

    Like

  4. Oh my ! A character named Yuri going “yuri” – I would have exclaimed but by that point, my brain had already sort of shut down… yup, everyone’s saying Yuri has boy-parts and that’s prob. where it will head. But the question is: WHY? Why have a story where the only female character with obvious intelligence enough to overcome our other main female lead is suddenly given boy parts? Character complexity ? Really?? We need MORE??? Now it’s going off the rails – and just too many questions without any real fun. No redeeming for Yuri now unless of course she turns out to be the Penguindrum…

    Like

    • “Character complexity ? Really?? We need MORE??? ”

      Nonono, they would like to cover all the grounds. It is the idea that they try to defy logic with each passing episode. lol!

      “No redeeming for Yuri now unless of course she turns out to be the Penguindrum…”

      ….
      What the hell is the penguindrum anyway?!

      I think there is redemption as long as she is not trying to be crazy psycho B*tch in the next ep. Or maybe she was not trying to rape the girl but practice her bondage technique on her. =P

      Like

  5. This show is just plain… amazing and at the same time so wrooongggg… @_@ No more comments to rant about as my head is still organizing my thoughts on how an anime with penguins can be so amazing and at the same time be so wrooongg. @_@

    Like

    • “still organizing my thoughts on how an anime with penguins can be so amazing and at the same time be so wrooongg. @_@”

      Lol… Ikuhara, Kunihiko is how it can be so wrong. But you are right about it being amazing and wrong at the same time. =P

      Like

  1. Pingback: Notes of Mawaru Penguindrum Episode 14 « Organization Anti-Social Geniuses

Please Leave a Reply

