Phi Brain: Kami no Puzzle – 03 Review

The classic looking off into the sunset.
I think Gammon had summarised my frustration with that bull-crap prize.

Episode 03 – The Melancholy of the Boy Genius

So, I had seen this episode of Phi Brain before going out for dinner with a few friends.

After mulling over it for a few hours, I am back here wondering about what I had thought of the episode and I have come to the conclusion that “nope, it hasn’t gotten any better”.

Episode Summary

After being reprimanded by the principal, Kaitou and Nonoha meet another genius named Cubic G ‘Edison’ and he essentially tries to recruit Kaitou to use his brains for other means apart from puzzles. He then slaps on a bracelet that stops Kaitou from thinking about puzzles by giving him massive headaches.

Kaitou then gets a challenge and this one is related to Sudoku. A city developer has planted bombs around a nearby park and Kaitou and the gang have a limited time to solve the puzzle. They run around the park in search for numbers that are related to the diff parts of the park and when time is running out, Kaitou smashes the bracelet Cubic had put on him and he activates his “eye” (surprising how it is only one eye) and saves the day.

The scene ends with Crossfield aka Luke making an appearance.

I just had to do a screencap of the recap. =P My favourite corny line is still the one that showed us Kaitou’s uncanny ability to communicate with puzzles. What is yours?

Review

The opening scene of this episode was a recap of the last episode. Whilst I found the fact that despite being only 2 episodes in the show already sees the need to do a recap interesting, the problem with it was that it made me realise how cheesy the last episode felt. It had me thinking, “did they really pick the corniest portions of the show for that recap?”

Okay, maybe I was a tad too harsh, but I did feel like that was not the best way to start an episode for a series that I was already doubtful about. =P

This episode introduces a new character into the mix and unlike last episode, I found this character to be really annoying with no redeeming factors. This scientist character, Cubic G ‘Edison’, did point out a very valid point of puzzles not being the most important thing in life. I thought that the series was going to totally ignore that fact. However,  Cubic’s way of thinking had me wondering how being a genius at solving puzzles translates into being a potential genius mathematician anyway? Isn’t it a tad presumptuous? I can see the link but… =/ still not convincing enough.

I had this sinking feeling throughout the episode that Cubic’s character was meant to be funny with his stereotypical personality of having only fomulas for friends and being such a nerd etc. Sadly I did not find myself laughing at all. Also, this personality was totally annoying. What was with his whole prejudice against puzzles anyway. No back story was explained about it and that is something I would really hope this series will get into soon (esp with Kaitou).

One thing this episode proved was that despite the fact that Kaitou and Nonoha are meant to be the main characters, Gammon was way more interesting and comical to watch.

I am going nuts with images.

Then we have my personal issue with the bracelet. It mades no sense. A bracelet that only gives the person headaches when they try to solve puzzles? How is this invention so specific. I guess we are meant to accept this fact since Cubic G is an inventor like Edison. My other problem with it were the methods Edison uses to try and poach Kaitou, but I can’t be bothered thinking about that since it will probably get me nowhere.

One good thing about this episode was that the production team had taken their time to actually show us how the puzzles were solved this week and I really appreciate this. The stupid thing about it? The final scene with Kaitou in it (and the map) had me asking myself – why bother with going around the park in the first place when taking a look at the map would have been enough since the items were all illustrated there (there were 2 swans in the image, then the gazebos were there too, etc.) I mean, even the first number they had guessed had proven that they did not have to physically be at location in order for the number to appear. =_=”

And yet you choose to go for a run… I guess the bracelet did fry your brains

The methods in which the puzzles are solved are just getting more and more baffling with each passing week. The first one was solved with Kaitou mysteriously having gained x-ray vision, second was by destroying the puzzle, and now they decide to send themselves on a goose chase for no reason. Just shoot these geniuses. Seriously.

I guess my last issue with this series is that all the POG puzzle givers are such sore losers. Sigh… what a depressing life.

His hair looks like cotton candy =D

Overall, despite the issues with the puzzles and the annoying new character (that I don’t like all that much), this show is still a fun enough watch and it does not require any form of thought (really, I am not kidding. Do not think.) The action, the rest of the characters, as well as the as-of-yet uninteresting subplot make this a very mediocre show that is not looking like it would be improving anytime soon.

Episode Rating: 6.5/10 – there was little good with it and my impression of it just got worse after giving myself some time to think about it. =/ But that being said, it was not any different from the way the last episode was.

-ra

About Saranaufogus

An Anime fan who can't seem to keep her thoughts to herself. Find me on: Instagram | Twitter

Posted on October 17, 2011, in Anime, Phi Brain - Kami no Puzzle, Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I agree with you. This series almost has no merit to it.

    It’s kind of like what Yu Gi Oh would have been if it didn’t have a tie in with the trading card game irl. But even then, Yu Gi Oh was quite exciting to watch even to non-players.

    Like

  2. Yea, that wasn’t harsh, this series really destroyed any potential it had as soon as they introduced Cubic. I hope he wasn’t meant to be funny, as his character annoyed the crap outta me. I had the same issue you did with the bracelet and the spotty scientific explanation for it. What bugged me the most this episode aside from that, is the Giver, how does him blowing up the city win him anything? and how do such nutjobs get past the screening to be test givers?
    I realized a few things this episode, first was that the character designs are kinda ugly, and second was that I’ve never wanted a show to kill off its villains (and cubic) out of sheer annoyance before. I somehow think that the rest of this series trials could be easily solved if Kaito just killed the givers as he get to the test site, since they’re obviously going to try to kill him anyway, over a half assed reason whether he wins or loses. The formula for the show is, a bit too formulaic, him waiting until the end to use the armband is dragging on like Saya waiting to get serious in Blood C. Saya gets a pass because clamp made her pretty lol

    @Sandybell, I agree about YuGiOh, I think that show led as many people to start playing the game, as the game led to watching the show; it was fun to watch, and well localized in the dub. Plus it didn’t take itself to be serious like a heart attack, it had its moments, and they belabored some themes, but the story moved in a watchable fashion and the characters were generally more likeable.

    Like

  3. Sandybell
    “I agree with you. This series almost has no merit to it.”
    I am seriously questioning myself for watching it and *then* spending time reviewing it. lol. makes me feel like a nut job. =P

    @viishous
    “I realized a few things this episode, first was that the character designs are kinda ugly, ”
    *ahem* you only just realised that? =P

    “second was that I’ve never wanted a show to kill off its villains (and cubic) out of sheer annoyance before. ”
    I have a feeling he is not meant to be a villain and that sh*ts me the most =/

    “The formula for the show is, a bit too formulaic, him waiting until the end to use the armband is dragging on like Saya waiting to get serious in Blood C. Saya gets a pass because clamp made her pretty lol”

    Well, i would rather watch this cos Blood C was so tiring to watch unless you laughed at it. Plus the damn dog was annoying. Then again, this show is definitely no quality series either.

    Like

  4. I’m starting to get bored with this. It’s quite sad because it has a lot of potential.

    The only moment I really liked in that episode was Nonoha running off with Gammon (why with him and not with Kaito in the first place? Do I smell some weird romance going on?)
    Their interaction was kinda funny ^^

    Like

  5. “I’m starting to get bored with this. It’s quite sad because it has a lot of potential.”

    When I first saw the summary for this show, I thought it would be a easy show to watch that would simply revolved around the main character solving interesting puzzles. Sadly, the show turned out to be more focused on the POG plot and the puzzles are starting to feel secondary to simply proving that Kaitou is good or that there is something going on w the POG people. sigh.

    “(why with him and not with Kaito in the first place? Do I smell some weird romance going on?)”

    I think Kaitou simply wanted to get things done on his own and she trusted him enough to be able to do it without needing any help. =/

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

