Kimi to Boku – 03 Review

Yes! I am finally here!

Episode 03 – The Straw Coloured Boy
(geez, racist much?)

So the last of the group finally makes an appearance!

But does this change the way things are for this series?

Super Duper Short Episode Summary

Tachibana, a new exchange student is adamant that Yuki is the friend from his childhood whom he had shared a bond with. Through the rest of the episode, Yuki tries to remember the past in hopes of figuring out if he was mistaken whilst Yuki stands by the fact that he does not remember Tachibana. Through the use of a flashback, the past and truth is revealed.

Impression

Perhaps I am weird, but I actually quite liked this episode. It still had its same slow low-key mood that the last 2 episode have been plagued with, but at the same time, the appearance of Tachibana introduces some much needed virility to the show.

One thing that this episode had manage to confirm in my mind was that this is a series that aims to be low-key. Why? I merely say this because even the comedy side of this series is not robust and “loud” but rather simple and quiet in it’s execution. It gives off the same subtle feeling that reminds me of a gentle breeze – nice but also something I can live without.

I could not help but feel that Tachibana’s over-enthusiastic attitude couple with his crazy reactions reminded me of Tamaki from Ouran. Although both of the characters have different personalities, they do fall under the same mold when it came to some of the character traits. That also had me thinking… a pair of twins, intelligent character with glasses, a girlish male character and a kid (I hope she is not a permanent part of the group), all we are missing is a stoic tall character and we would have ourselves a alternate reality of the Ouran Host Club. (Sure, most of these are generic stereotype characters but still…)

Is hair the only physical way that mangakas can think of to distinguish twins apart from choice of clothes?

Tachibana’s character actually spiced up the show for me. It was not only his crazy reactions but simply because of how he is able to get certain reactions out of the group member that made things more interesting and less dull to watch. Also, his idiotic personality when it came to Shun was pretty funny. It was nothing shocking nor original but it was still a fun scene since stubborn characters with stupid personalities are entertaining.

I am starting to feel like I have a hand fetish after all these sceencaps

For a series that is not meant to be a BL show, it sure does tend to push the line by having ambiguous elements. The whole situation between Yuki and Tachibana reminded me of a long-lost childhood friend type of shoujo love story especially with the focus on their hands touching/holding one another. I found that to be pretty funny simply because it seem like such an easy thing to misunderstand and thus turn a certain portion of the views away from the series. That was actually the scene that had me questioning if the series was certain that it did not want to change it’s genre.

I did not really understand the whole flash between the different times of the day with that scene. Anyone know what’s going on there?

My only question/issue with this episode is the reason behind why Yuki did not want to admit it was him whom Tachibana had met as a kid and wanted to force it upon Yuta instead?

Overall, this series is starting to look less boring and a lot brighter with the introduction of Tachibana’s character. Although it worked well for this episode since he is still a fresh face/personality, I can’t help but question if this would be the same for the following episodes. One thing is for sure, this series is going to remain mellow and relaxing (with the hint of boredom ever so often) for the rest of the season and I don’t see that changing. Then again, with all the random weirdness in this season’s anime, I quite enjoy this break from madness.

Oh, and flashbacks seems to be an integral part of this series since every episode has had at least one thus far.

Episode Rating: 7/10

Total Cat Count this episode: 15
(I did lose count halfway since I actually started to enjoy this episode)

-ra

About Saranaufogus

An Anime fan who can't seem to keep her thoughts to herself. Find me on: Instagram | Twitter

Posted on October 18, 2011, in Anime, Kimi to Boku, Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. 23. There were 23 cats.

    But it is so far my favorite episode.

    Like

    • oh dear god. you actually counted it. LOL! Goes to show that I aint no mathematician… maybe that means I am no puzzle genius either. *shocked*

      I must have enjoyed the show and totally lost count if that were the case. I remember going “oh wait, I was meant to count the cats…” =P

      but did you like the episode or was your interest in counting the cats a sign of you “interest” in the episode?

      Like

      • It’s your fault I was counting in the first place 😄

        I can’t say I really liked the episode, it’s still not the most amazing thing on earth and I fail to see anything to even say about it but it is so far the best episode and the less boring.
        Counting the cats was just to make sure I gave all my attention to the show instead of ranting on the sides ^^

        Like

      • “It’s your fault I was counting in the first place XD”

        Sure, sure. Push your own Obsessive Complusive tendencies onto me. =P

        “I can’t say I really liked the episode, it’s still not the most amazing thing on earth and I fail to see anything to even say about it but it is so far the best episode and the less boring.”

        That’s true. It is not anything amazing that’s for sure. But like you had said, this was the best episode. I am just worried if this would end up being the best episode of the season simply because Tachibana was interesting due to him being a new character.

        “Counting the cats was just to make sure I gave all my attention to the show instead of ranting on the sides ^^”

        *cough* I believe you *cough* =P Well, lets count them again next week! =D heh

        Like

  2. I think Yuki didn’t want to admit it was him cause he still felt alot of guilt over the whole shaking him off a tree incident back when they were kids.

    Like

    • Hi Ann,

      That’s what I had thought as well, but then it was like he was pushing the blame to his brother and I don’t want to believe that he is such a mean person. lol. What do you think of the episode though? Are you liking it or is it too slow for your taste?

      Like

      • Well he never seemed like the nicest of people from the get-go imo, and I can understand trrying to avoid facing up to something that might have bothered him for years. If that isn’t the reason, I’m not sure what else it could be, heh. Personally ep 3 is my favourite so far(Chizuru is very amusing and brings out funny reactions in the cast) the slow pace doesn’t bother me much at all. I like it to watch inbetween all the action shows I follow.

        Like

      • “I like it to watch inbetween all the action shows I follow.”

        I definitely agree with you on that part. It is surprisingly a much needed break from the action (that I did not even realise I had needed in the first place). =)

        Like

  3. Maybe its just me but I cannot seem to find a single thing WRONG with this series (maybe I just don’t have a lot of standards left after last season!) – I love the whole “group of friends but nothing more” concept, even digging the OP. My only gripe is the un-interesting ED song. But seriously, I just dig this whole series – if when it’s like Natsume Yuujinchou slowed down by about 10x. Again, one of the few un-complicated series if you avoid all the hand-holding implications.

    Like

    • “Maybe its just me but I cannot seem to find a single thing WRONG with this series (maybe I just don’t have a lot of standards left after last season!)”

      Did you really not like last season’s things? What shows were you watching that made you so doubtful of things =P

      Well, there is nothing majorly wrong with the show except for the fact that there is nothing majorly right with the show either. It is just… there. Lol, happy at its place of being slightly above mediocre at best for me. =P

      “Again, one of the few un-complicated series if you avoid all the hand-holding implications.”

      Well, I agree with you on that. It is relaxing and erm… uncomplicated *purposely starts to focus on the hand holding situation*.

      “My only gripe is the un-interesting ED song”

      I just hate the english song that they can’t help but be tempted to use for some odd reason. Why I ask, whyyy?!

      Like

  4. I have to say I actually really like how mellow the anime is. Why? Because it’s not trying to be overly flamboyant like Ouran High but at the same time is trying not to be as drama intense as something like Fruits Basket. It has this very REAL element to it, and I really appreciate that.
    I didn’t really see the hand-holding as anything out of the ordinary, I mean, guys/kids do that ALL the time.
    As for why Yuki wanted to push the blame to Yuta, it was because he didn’t want to be the one Chizuru has been hurt by. Rather, he didn’t want Chizuru to remember HIM as the one who hurt him, he felt guilty, so he just let Chizuru assume it was his brother. It seems a bit mean to push the blame to Yuta, but I mean, Yuki would totally do it.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

