Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai – 04 Impression

‘Gotta love Yozora’s blunt comments. =D

Episode 04

UNIVERSE!!!!!

The episode was starting to feel a tad lacking in comedy until the scene towards the end – Twin Z x Unit 02. ^-^b

Impression

So this episode has decided to play catchup and introduces us to 3 new characters this week – Maria, Yukimura and Rika.

Maria comes across as a naive Sister who is a 10 years old teacher that is also the moderator of the club. How that is meant to make sense, don’t ask. =P

I had a hard time getting used to her voice as it sounded really whiny to me. It really got on my nerves and I am glad that the episode had not place too big a focus on her. The best part about her scene was probably seeing Yozora at her best – manipulating people. The way she twisted the character around her finger was fun to watch. However, this scene was not as funny as the last couple of episodes where the first scene had started out strong.

The comes Yukimura. Geez, first it is Shun from Kimi to Boku and now we have Yukimura – the girly guy. Is he even a guy? From the sounds of it, he is actually a very twisted she. I can just imagine her back-story being her dad wanting a boy thus raising her as a boy. This show has its fair share of ridiculous characters but this week seems hell bent on bringing on the crazy personalities. =D

Then we have the funniest of the group who provides us with great entertainment value simply because she is such a masochist. I guess this is where I am meant to say that sex sells. =P I had never pictured myself entertained by such a character, but they actually did a good job with her by introducing the whole mecha factor thus bringing it to a whole new twisted level. That scene was priceless. I was snickering when it was merely her highly enthusiastic voice backed by still images of the manga, but when they actually animated the scene, that cracked me up. =D “UNIVERSE!!!” Is this the new “FABULOUS MAX” ( reference to Mawaru Penguindrum) of the season?

So your odd gradient hair is natural eh? I had thought it was a super bad dye job. =P (or animation. heh)

Then we have our resident delinquent, Kodaka. The way this episode focused on making his life hell and dragging his already torn reputation through the gutter was funny. I like how everyone seems to have selective hearing when it comes to him and are super quick to presume things. The predicament that he is placed in does make me cringe at times but I still enjoy it. (I cringe because I pity the boy, he does not really deserve the misunderstanding that just seems to grow bigger each time)

This episode however did kinda hold back on the fan-service with regards to Sena and Yozora, but I am sure that last week’s overabundance of it should have made up for this week’s lack thereof. It was also nice to see Sena constantly occupied with her Dating Sim game.

Episode Rating: 7/10

Overall, this was another fun episode despite the fact that last episode had left a bigger impression on me. This series is turning out to be better than I had expected and I can’t wait for the next episode! =D So far it’s been a good Friday night of anime for me! =)

Lesson learned from this episode: We have finally learned the true nature of the Club! It is a Sex Friend Club! =P

-ra

This was a fun episode to watch before heading to bed. Shall review P4 tomorrow. Night folks!

About Saranaufogus

An Anime fan who can't seem to keep her thoughts to herself. Find me on: Instagram | Twitter

Posted on October 28, 2011, in Anime, Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai, Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Don’t make fun of people with weird hair colors!

    That being said and even if I was warned beforehand of Rika’s strange fetishes I was still surprised. (And disappointed they didn’t animate it properly, I’m genuinely curious about how it would work, whatever)

    And Yukimura is such a reference to BakaTest’s Hideyoshi that I can’t really bring myself to like him/her/it. I didn’t really like Hideyoshi ^^

    Like

    • “Don’t make fun of people with weird hair colors! ”

      Actually, all the main characters in the show have weird colours instead of Yozora. Kodaka’s one was simply odd. But it is nice to kearn a new thing about him each week. Makes him less of a 2-D personality.

      “And disappointed they didn’t animate it properly, I’m genuinely curious about how it would work, whatever”

      I kinda liked the fact that they were not too crazy with the animation, it made me focus on hearing her voice instead and that was funny. =D

      Like

  2. Agreed, I had fun watching the end of the episode more than anything else. I was so confused when they introduced the mini-nun because it seemed like they were just pandering to as many fetish’s as they could. Then the gender confused person just took it to another level of me thinking “wow they really wanna get something in there for everyone,” but it still ended up being funny enough. Rika killed me with the robot scene like you said, it was already pretty funny and then they animated it with her voice over and it became hilarious.

    Like

    • “I was so confused when they introduced the mini-nun because it seemed like they were just pandering to as many fetish’s as they could. ”

      I felt the same way too. I was so scared that they had destroyed the show simply based on that fact and that I was no longer going to be able to enjoy the series as much. Thank god the rest of the characters were interesting enough.

      Right now I have 2 worries:

      1) Is there going to be more characters joining the group?
      2) Would the should maintain the same quality as before? The simply dynamics between Sena, Kodaka and Yozora had worked nicely but I am scared that it would be too overbearing w all these new fetish driven characters. =P

      Like

      • You have a point, they may be overextending themselves if they focus on developing the new character over the original 3. What concerns me a bit is that now the show seems like its gonna turn into a full blown harem; it was funny seeing Rika being overtly sexual, but the fact that it bothered everyone else in the room makes it seem like they all have feelings for him, which doesn’t automatically make it bad, but its not as easy to keep it original if that’s what it turns into. Still I plan on watching anyway, its a good show in a weak season.

        Like

      • “What concerns me a bit is that now the show seems like its gonna turn into a full blown harem”

        It had always seemed that way to me but I am hoping that it will retain it’s “fun” and charming aspects even if they do go down that road.

        “Still I plan on watching anyway, its a good show in a weak season.”

        I agree, it is a pretty weak season. =/ Can’t wait for Winter, looks like it might be decent.

        Like

Please Leave a Reply

