Hunter x Hunter 2011 – 05 Review

Episode 05 – Hisoka x is x Sneaky

This is probably the first time where I actually wished the pacing of the episode was faster.

We have yet to see the end of the First Hunter Exam despite the fact that it had started at the end of Episode 03.

Episode Summary

This episode has our Hunter Candidates running through the swamp as they encounter various swamp creatures that brings them to their death.

A group of candidates seek out Hisoka to kill him but in turn, Hisoka decides to play the role of an Examiner and eliminates those whom he doesn’t see fit to be a Hunter. Leorio and Kurapica then runs into him and they made a decision to split up and run away from him. Leorio turns back and faces Hisoka but before Hisoka is able to harm Leorio, Gon comes and attacks Hisoka. A fight ensues and Hisoka deems both Leorio and Gon fit to continue the exam.

Review

This episode covers the second half of chapter 8 until the first half of chapter 10 of the manga. Mirroring it is 3/4 of episode 8 of the ’99 series (which is saying a lot about the pacing for this episode since the 2011 series has always been the speedy gonzalez version of the 99 series).

The first part of the episode was really quite boring and slow. The second part of the first examination had started and the producers had spent a good half an episode on introducing random swamp characters whilst showing us the danger of the swamp. Sure, it is interesting to see the different types of creatures, only if it actually has some sort of importance to the overall world of HxH, but these specific creatures are not all that important at this point and could have been done without the personal still frame + name tag moments.

There really isn’t too much for me to talk about with this show since I have resigned myself to viewing this as a brand new series and disregard my prior impression of the ’99 series. That being said, since this show is following the manga, I shall probably make a few comments on that after all.

This episode had really proven one thing – they plan on toning down a lot of the gore that was in the manga.

The whole scene with Hisoka killing everyone off was pretty much as “sanitized” as one could get without turning it into a children series. The lack of blood was obvious but at least they managed to squeeze in a hint of it when he “shakes” it off the cards. What I did enjoy, and find it to be more disturbing than actually blood, was the look on Hisoka’s face when he was killing people and acting all sadistic. Honestly, if I ever have a kid, I would rather have them watching animated blood than a creepy character like Hisoka. Those are the things that make a mass murderer.

Random Thought: Speaking of affixiation. This reminds me a recent article about how a girl had died from playing the choking game and her parents were regretting the fact that they did not warn their daughter not to choke themselves. =_=”
Moral of the story? Dear kids out there, a lack of air to the brain can kill so don’t be too shocked if you end up in heaven from choking yourselves. =P That being said, my thoughts do go out to that family for having lost their teen daughter.

What I did like about Hisoka’s fighting in this episode was probably the whole vanishing act that he did. That was pretty fun to watch.

I have to say one thing about Hisoka’s VA. Although I said that I had liked his voice when we first saw him, this episode had made the fact, that he seems to mimic certain aspects of the ’99 series’ VA’s manner of speech, quite obvious. I was hoping that he would have been a whole new Hisoka since his voice was so different/generic. But now, it is starting to look like a mixture of a normal man (when he was talking to Gon about friends being important) and the creepy-side of ’99 Hisoka.

Speaking of the “friends are important message”, I felt like that was unnecessary. I had forgotten if that was in the manga so I went back to re-read that chapter and found that there was nothing about friends being good/useful in it, merely a statement about companions waiting for them. I am hoping to god that this is not going to be some sort of small “tips on life”-for-kids show. Then again, what would the kids be learning after seeing Hisoka, so I am going to say that is not the case, but then, that just made that comment really odd and useless. =/

Then comes Kurapica. Why did he take so long to turn back? It was not long after they had split up when he had heard Leorio’s voice. Tsk tsk, was he hiding in the shadows waiting for the match to be over before appearing? =P Oh you sneaky person…

The whole part with Kurapica talking to Gon whilst running was another unentertaining scene to watch visually. It was nice that they had animated Kurapica’s explanation but the animation of this whole episode felt very lazy and boring and lacked any charm at all (plus what’s up with all those circles? Meant to be a representation of death I assume? I mean, since Hisoka killed those guys in a similar circle manner). Too many panning frames, too many still shots, too many slow parts. It was just quite a dull episode overall.

Then we have the music. Alright, so you are sick of hearing me complain about the BGM and you are sick of listening to the BGM. But hey, this episode was pretty decent until that damn Kurapica-analysising-Hisoka scene. The music was too bright and magical for such a scene, I wanted something dark that screamed impending doom or danger. =/

Episode Rating: 6.5/10 – Am not feeling the love

Overall, it was a pretty disappointing episode and I am hoping that next episode would pick up it’s pace and become more interesting to watch.

-ra

About Saranaufogus

An Anime fan who can't seem to keep her thoughts to herself. Find me on: Instagram | Twitter

Posted on October 30, 2011, in Anime, Hunter x Hunter 2011, Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. The circles might be representations of the meeting between Gon, Leorio, and Hisoka. The explanation Kurapica gave said people of like-talents are attracted to each other.

    I’m pretty sure the colors correspond to their nen types, but nobody would know that if they didn’t watch the ’99 series.

    Nice reviews. 🙂

    Like

  2. *I am in love* Simply because Hisoka’s fight was so awesome ❤ He seems so much more in control (of himself), and mostly because while the old VA was wonderful in a gleeful insane pervert sort of way, this VA makes Hisoka into a fangirl-squeal inducing bishie (still perverted). Which might not really count as a good point for those of us that aren't crazy fangirls, but it's made me smile at least~ Not much to be said about the other characters, but at least Hisoka's sorta made up for it.

    I thought of the circles as something like radar detecting waves, but now that you mention it the colours do seem to correspond. Or would if we ever found out what Leorio's nen colour was.

    By the way about the friends message part, I think the differences you're seeing in the manga/anime would be due to translation inconsistencies. What he's basically saying is "what you and I (or, your side and my side) should both have are comrades, yes?" referring to gon-leorio and himself-illumi I think, so in that context it could possibly translate in nicer english to either the importance or usefulness of friends 🙂

    Preview- she's green! Everyone that was vaguely pinkish is turning greeeeeennnnn! +_O

    Like

    • “By the way about the friends message part, I think the differences you’re seeing in the manga/anime would be due to translation inconsistencies. ”

      That would make sense if that were the case cos that message about friends part was a tad odd.

      “this VA makes Hisoka into a fangirl-squeal inducing bishie (still perverted). ”

      He does seem more lovable whereas the previous one was definitely psychotic. But hey, I always liked Hisoka so no complains there. ^-^v

      Like

  3. I agree, those creature introductions were not really necessary. It was fascinating yes, but not necessary. Hisoka… I’m having a hard time to warm-up to. I really like the 99′ series VA’s version of a psychotic Hisoka. But I do agree that if i close my eyes, the new VA’s voice is HOT. @_@ Maybe I’m just having a hard time detaching myself from the old VA because I really love his voice then. But i’m sure i’ll be able to warm up to this one because his voice is hot and Hisoka is also hot. HAHA! I’m just kind off bothered with Hisoka’s body, his body is like a tube wrapped in tight hulahoops haha. Well maybe that’s just me. 😛

    Oh and speaking of BGM… I am loving Hisoka’s character theme, the BGM with a Spanish feel in it. I’m not sure if that is Hisoka’s character theme but it plays whenever Hisoka’s in the spotlight. I don’t know if it fits but i just like it. HAHA! :)) Oh and ENDING SONG ROCKS!!! I’m itching to hear the full version of the Ending… It’s just sooooo gooooooddd! The ending video too was really good. although the only thing that i understood in the whole song was “wasurenaide” part hahaha! I STILL LOVE IT!

    By the way good review! Keep it up. I’ve been following your page since your review for episode 2. Thank you for your hard work! Otsukaresama deshita! 😀

    Like

    • “Hisoka… I’m having a hard time to warm-up to. I really like the 99′ series VA’s version of a psychotic Hisoka. But I do agree that if i close my eyes, the new VA’s voice is HOT. ”

      The image of thinking of Hisoka as HOT is hilarious but oh so true. He is definitely the definition of a charming psycho. =D He is not really the antagonist but be is definitely a sociopath.

      “Oh and speaking of BGM… I am loving Hisoka’s character theme, the BGM with a Spanish feel in it. ”

      I loved it too! Am not sure if that is the official theme but it does suit his character so well.

      “although the only thing that i understood in the whole song was “wasurenaide” part hahaha!”

      Go and check out the eng subs version of the ED =D

      “I’ve been following your page since your review for episode 2. Thank you for your hard work! Otsukaresama deshita! :D”

      Thank you for reading!! Shall see you at the next review 😉

      P.S: Sorry for not responding to the comment, the wordpress comment thing seems to be having issues. They are either getting pushed to the spam comments section or simply not appearing under latest comments. =(

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

