Mirai Nikki – 04 Impression

Episode 04 – Power of the Phone

Wow, this was another strong episode for Mirai Nikki.

This series is quickly turning into one of my favourites of the season despite it’s shaky start. If this keeps up, I might end up turning into a psycho just like all the characters in this show. =P

Impression

Who can hate zombies in such a crazy series? It just makes it even better to see them throw the use of zombies into the mix of things. ^-^b The whole atmosphere and build-up of this episode was really nicely done and consistent, so much so that I have to say that this was the most well paced episode of the series thus far.

Okay, so this is one seriously odd show where all the supporting characters leaves a stronger impression on us as compared to the main character. I still dislike Yuki and love to see him cower in fear but I love seeing the psychopathic tendencies of Yuno and the other members even more.

This episode had introduced us to a crazy amount of pyscho diary owners – what with 12th actually making Minene seem normal and Kasugano showing her freaky side when she screamed and her inner thoughts of Yuno using her to save Yuki.

Is it just me or did Yuno’s mind twist the scene with Yuki to make it seem worse than it was?

Here is my impression of the characters thus far.

The other characters in the show this week actually make Minene seem pretty sane. As for the 6th, Kasugano, I am unsure as to whether she is meant to be a “good guy” since she did have that mental-break moment in the cage. 12th is apparently blind and is all-hearing as well as a crazy perverted psycho. (One just can’t get enough of pyschos in this series =P). Then we have Yuki whom we all know is a pansy. The missing Kurusu is a bit suspicious, but for now I shall write him off as a good guy.

Now lets move onto my favorite character of the show, Yuno. This girl is awesome and such a crazy psycho, I never thought it was possible for her to become freakier after the last episode but each episode just shows how much crazier she can get. I loved how this episode showed her breakdown in a bit more detail, as compared to the previous episode, with her jealousy tendencies kicking in. At one point, I wanted to shoot Yuki for being so stupid and spouting all those words about being afraid of Yuno. Seriously, if the girl is as scary and crazy as you picture her to be, I don’t think what you are saying would be beneficial in any way. =_=” Oh Yuki… *shakes head*.

All the blood in this episode reminds me of Blood-C =P

Another thing that I had liked about the story was how they had originally made every player think that Yuki was some “special character” in the game, while we all knew that Yuno was actually the mastermind behind everything. This episode finally throws Yuno under the “choosen/special one” spotlight and we get to see her as this kick-ass character with some merit behind her craziness. I mean, only someone crazy would have thought up the idea that the people lying on the floor were dead zombies that could hear and would actually want to hack a corpse without respect and without remorse. Love it!

As for the animation, what I really love about this series’ animation is the use of the character’s eyes. Their eyes emote what they feel and it brings the tension to a whole new level, simply because of how realistic (in a super dramatic manner) it makes everything seem. I just love how Yuki’s eyes twitch when he is cowering in fear. I know I have said this before but I still love the way their eyes look and their facial expressions in this series.

The only down side to this episode (and the series in general) is the fact that the last couple of weeks (especially this week), have made me realise that I might be a closet psycho because of how much I loved seeing all the craziness on screen. *Sigh*… some knowledge is best left unknown. =/

Episode Rating: 7.5/10 – Nicely paced and I can’t wait for the next episode!

Overall, the episode was another good suspenseful episode and the amount of times that I have used the word “love” in this review should have hinted at how much I enjoyed it. =)

-ra

P.S: If you are wondering where M0rg0th is, the poor boy is currently without internet until Thursday so he probably won’t be reviewing anything until then and might spam this site on Thursday. =P

About Saranaufogus

An Anime fan who can't seem to keep her thoughts to herself. Find me on: Instagram | Twitter

Posted on October 31, 2011, in Anime, Mirai Nikki, Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. I also loved this episode, but not for the same reasons. If you review is only stating things like “they are crazy” “they are psycho” “she’s insane” “what a freak”, it’s not worth reading. You’re the kind of person who makes me wants to puke, and unfortunately for the other reviewers, I won’t visit this blog again.

    Like

    • Well, since you are not going to come back I am going to assume that you are never going to see this comment but I am going to still write it anyway.

      As for what you wrote.. you are right, but hey, this was just me going nuts and venting my joy after watching the episode, I never said it was a review, pretty sure I called it an impression. =P But yeah, if I do do a review on episodes of the show in the future, I shall keep what you say in mind and make sure it is more elaborate with an explanation. I didn’t want to write an elaborate review on the episode (cos I don’t have the time right now) but I needed an outlet for my excitement. So I apologise for wasting your time.

      Like

  2. “I also loved this episode, but not for the same reasons. If you review is only stating things like “they are crazy” “they are psycho” “she’s insane” “what a freak”, it’s not worth reading. You’re the kind of person who makes me wants to puke, and unfortunately for the other reviewers, I won’t visit this blog again.”

    In the first place: If your comments are all like “I also loved this episode, but not for the same reasons.” with no explanation why and in which way it doesn´t seem quite a loss to anyone around here. At least you could have shown us, that you could do better, if you criticze the work of others.

    Well, Miria Nikki is becoming more and more disturbing and alarming.
    Somehow I wonder how the charcters where selected. Each and everyone of them has an deep deep psychological problem somewhere hidden.
    We just had the chance to look at one of them (exept the mains), Uryuu. There was these childhood tradgedy, why she was going for her “Escape diary”, but still this can´t be all, can it?
    I just hope that the story will give us some answers for the motivation of this quite extrem persones and just not simple end up as some splatter horror show.
    I did like this zombie part a lot, it was a nice change to the normal “undead” you get to known.
    But Yuki and Yuno getting really annoying to me, the overacting both in separate ways.

    Like

    • “There was these childhood tradgedy, why she was going for her “Escape diary”, but still this can´t be all, can it?”

      Well, all the characters seem to have some sort of back story, I am just worried they might not have enough episodes to complete the series without missing out on vital details that may have been in the manga. Personally, I would rather they break it up over 2 seasons instead of rushing a series if they are lacking the budget to do it all in one shot. =P

      “I did like this zombie part a lot, it was a nice change to the normal “undead” you get to known.”

      Yup, definitely a different approach. It was a nice way of introducing the whole zombie factor without making it too tacky.

      “Somehow I wonder how the charcters where selected. ”

      I was actually wishing that we could have seen more of the Duex Ex Machina in this episode or any form of backstory to the whole dead people in Yuno’s place. I mean, is that even her house in the first place? I wouldn’t put it past her to fake her residence.

      Like

      • “Well, all the characters seem to have some sort of back story, I am just worried they might not have enough episodes to complete the series without missing out on vital details that may have been in the manga. Personally, I would rather they break it up over 2 seasons instead of rushing a series if they are lacking the budget to do it all in one shot. =P”
        Hopefully they do so in every story ;). Wouldn´t it be sad if the have not?
        But the question is CAN it been changed over in the anime? And as for me I do not appreciate it to do 2 seasons. I rather would go for more episodes to finish a story if the manga is finished, of course.

        Like

  3. Oh dear…
    Let’s just forget about that rude anonymous.
    Everybody has psychopath side inside them, anyway, lol.
    I am excited from seeing Yuno’s craziness as well.
    Also, I am excited because Yuno alters the future and Yuki’s fate while she’s just a normal human. Yes, she’s crazy, but she doesn’t have any unusual power.

    What’s I don’t like about Mirai Nikki and stopped reading it’s manga is, why is it the other participants had unfair future diary and also, superhuman ability? This series would be even greater if they compete in pure mind game, and pure craziness.

    Like

  4. This show is consistently outdoing itself, which is great if it can keep it up through it’s 12 episodes. I think Yuki was especially wimpy this episode, but I don’t hate him for it anymore; Yuno picks up the slack with all her craziness. Yuki however did do one thing that was exceedingly brave/foolish; he called is crazy girlfriend crazy to her face, that is a huuuuuge no-no lol. If you have suspicions that a person close to you is trying to kill you and you know that person is obsessed with you, how did telling her off in a room surrounded by pointy things and fire seem like the thing to do. It really either took guts, or the kid cracked under the stress.

    The ending again this week was great highlighting Yuno’s importance to the series; last time i wasn’t sure about her happy end flag, but I think there were hints that it wasn’t meant to signal Yuki’s death. When they meet 6th, she mentions that Yuki beat the ‘dead end’ twice, which would account for him escaping Minene and for killing the other diary owner with the darts. Its still hard to say, because the series did a great job of hanging what happened at Yuno’s place in the air without actually explaining it or letting the characters discuss it creating that constant air of tension which I think is the reason that I like this series so much.

    Like

    • “Yuki however did do one thing that was exceedingly brave/foolish; he called is crazy girlfriend crazy to her face, that is a huuuuuge no-no lol. ”

      LOL, I just love that part, it showed either how fearless Yuki is, or how dense he really is. I would stick with dense as my choice.

      Yuno reaction to that scene also proved one thing though, Yuno is unable to see Yuki in any tainted light and will forever blame it on someone. One really wonders that she sees in him, but it is interesting that the only one who might be able to bring Yuno down would be Yuki. =D

      Like

  5. Just to be clear…those aren’t zombies 😛 They are controlled people by the 12th, they still live. Its only that Yuno does not care whether they are living or dead and would kill them anyway

    Like

  6. Are you sure? It seems like they killed each other before the 12th commaned them to rise up again.
    Coming to Yuno, either she is schizophrenic or has a mad twin.

    Like

  7. I wouldn’t worry about that anonymous comment.

    While it’s right that the blog wasn’t overly analytical, it’s also silly to think an analysis of a single episode will amount to much when the show is still ongoing. I mean at best we can talk about the various aspects of the episode without needing critical theory.

    I wouldn’t change anything. 🙂

    Back to the episode: I like how unpredictable the plot was: the crazier the characters and the story gets the better IMO.

    Question: how many of u think Yukiteru has lot in common with the archetype of wimpy protagonists: Shinji Ikari?

    Like

    • Meant to add: gotta love the ultimatum at the end of the episode, not because Yuki is going to die. It’s whether he has the balls to kill either the Sixth or kill Yuno. And since the answer is negative for both….

      Like

    • “And since the answer is negative for both….”

      Lol, I thnk that Yuno will kill Sixth while Yuki stands around, I doubt there Yuno will ever kill Yuki. The way I see it, Yuki is her Achilles Heel. =D

      Like

  8. Honestly, dear brother in mind…^^
    I think the wimpdom in amine male character especially the shounen started with him as well as this halfhearted psychological issues you have to suffer in so many of them.
    But I rather would see Yukiteru as a Ganta from Deadman Wonderland cause you don´t have to forget the close interaction with an insane female character like Yuno or Shiro.
    Shinji was not really in company with such psychos expect Kaworu.
    Uhm… The only character I liked so far.
    You should not dig deeper on this one.
    Coming to think on Ganta. Wasn´t it self-explanatory enough that the main character in Deadman wonderland OVA was Senji?

    Like

  9. @ the undead issue

    I am pretty sure that they are zombie. If I am not wrong, in the last scene, someone had called those people zombies. (then again, it might be a translation thing)

    @ the wimps of the anime world

    Lol, I think that out of all the characters around, Yuki seems to take the cake for most annoying wimp. There are wimps and then there are annoying-makes-you-want-to-slap-them-wimps. =P

    Even if this series does not seem to have the strongest plot around, they sure make up for it with impressionable characters.

    @ everyone

    Thanks for the kind words. =) Am glad that you guys are still reading the “impressions” =P

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

