Hunter x Hunter 2011 – 06 Review

Episode 06 – A x Suprising x Challenge

It’s that time of the week for a new Hunter x Hunter 2011 episode.

There really isn’t too much to say about this series as the story progresses because having seen the ’99 series means that the plot is not really going to be too refreshing to watch. As like with many other long running series, it takes some time to get into the rhythm of things and I think that with the exams finally starting to heat up, things would become more and more entertaining to watch.

Review

So this episode wraps up the second stage of the hunter exams as well as the end of the first stage of the hunter exams. The episode covers the end of episode 8-10 of the ’99 series and chapters 10-12 of the manga.

The Pigs

The whole situation with the pigs were a tad odd. I was sad that the animators had left out mentioning the excitement Gon had felt when he had battled Hisoka and how he seemed to enjoy and thrive when he is in a dangerous situation.

Another situation that I hadn’t really like was how Gon needed the apples from the tree to provide him with the hint to the fact that the pig’s weak spot were their foreheads. I had wanted Gon to realise it on his own (just like he did in the manga and ’99 series) seeing as to how he is a kid who had grown up in a forest area and amongst animals. I was hoping for a Jungle Book moment. =P

The Missing Sushi

What I had found really interesting with the whole second stage of the exam is that this is the first time this 2011 series actually left out a significant part from the manga storyline and had changed the flow of things. In this aspect, the ’99 series was more true to the manga than this episode.

In the manga, the second stage of the exams were split into two portions – a test give by Buhara (the pig) and a test given by Menchi (Sushi). I had really enjoyed the comedic situations during the Sushi scene in the ’99 series as the character exercised their observational abilities and I am sad that this scene was omitted from the episode. Although this is not a huge issue, it does leave me wondering what the general aim of this series is, since I had thought that it was to create a version that was true to the manga. Like I had said, this scene was nothing major but it is still part of the exams. =/ I guess the producers wanted to mix things up so that it would not be an exact duplicate of the manga (or they simply wanted to fit the whole 2nd exams into one episode).

The Eggs

I think out of the three versions of this scene, the one I had liked the best is still the ’99 series for a few reasons (I will elaborate later), followed by the 2011 series’ version with me liking the manga version the least.

The reason why I had liked the ’99 version more than this one was the fact that in the ’99 version, the scene with Gon saving the guy and then stealing the egg from him showed both Gon’s “good” side but also the fact that he is able to be cunning when he wants to be (survival instincts?). I felt that this edge in his character was an important point. Also, the whole boiling of the egg part was a good addition since the previous 2 test had showed that Menchi is a character who is concerned about how things are cooked and the perfection in which the food is cooked. I mean, you can overcook eggs after all and to casually brush this fact aside was disappointing. =)

Although I did like the way this whole updraft of wind showed Gon’s animalistic senses, it would have been more fun if they had merged both ideas together to form this 2011’s scene =P (I know, I want everything)

Now onto manga, I merely felt that the manga version was rushed and had skipped over the whole alternate test bit, and it had was over as quickly as it had started. In essence, it felt somewhat dismissive to me. Maybe it is because I had seen it in the opposite manner (saw the series before reading the manga), so that is why I feel this way, but that doesn’t change the way that I feel.

The narrator and the whole odd bgm is starting to grow on me… I am not sure if this is a good or bad thing. =P

Episode Rating: 6.5/10

Overall, this was still a decent episode and things are moving on at a relatively quick pace. My issue with this show is that if I had not seen the ’99 series beforehand, I might actually feel bored by the series since my anticipation for what comes next predominantly comes from already knowing what comes next.

On a side note, although we did not get to see much of Hisoka, Kilua did get a decent amount of screen time. So hurray for that! =D

Random fun note: Menchi’s hair is green in this version and pink in the ’99 series 😉

-ra

About Saranaufogus

An Anime fan who can't seem to keep her thoughts to herself. Find me on: Instagram | Twitter

Posted on November 6, 2011, in Anime, Hunter x Hunter 2011, Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. new series is a bit crap … way to short each episode. Theres less than 20mins each episode. Thats pure crap to extend the series by more episodes by acting like its a 30min episode when in reality they only show less than 20mins of new scenes.

    Like

  2. I share your views. The speed of the whole thing was a little unnatural, like how Menchi immediately revoked her judgement (with no change in expression) and how Gon immediately decided to be the good boy and share… argh. I really liked the new set up for the eggs, but miss seeing Hisoka getting all dejected over his culinary skills… 😄
    With the way they’re rushing to fit everything into one episodes, I’m starting to suspect that they’re trying to hurry things along to probably fit the Chimera arc and maybe even what comes after into it too…

    Like

    • “but miss seeing Hisoka getting all dejected over his culinary skills… XD”

      I know! That would have been so cute to watch and interesting to see how this new Hisoka would have portrayed that endearing side of his character.

      Like

  3. I wasnt bad at all, even they skipped the sushi(although I also love this scene 10 years ago) part the essence of the exam is still there they just joined it for Mechi.

    Well for the hair color I like the pink version, this green version isnt my taste but to admit the truth they made the 2011 Menchi a whole lot sexier in body…
    And Menchi real hair color in the manga is yellow…

    Like

  4. Its not bad actually, they just fit the whole pork and sushi thing in one go, but theyre pretty rushing it .

    Well we see the difference here in 99 her hair is pink while in 2011 her hair is green. But if you ask me her manga hair was officially yellow.

    Like

  5. would people stop their bitching! the last 3 episodes were slow as hell(which is a good thing) but this is the second exam about cooking- i mean sure it was hilarious in the manga and even more in the 99 anime but come on nobody likes a joke after 3 times- besides they can never do a better job than the ’99 manga so they were wise enough not to do it- other than that the exam doesn’t deserve more than 1 episode
    and the best thing about it is that next week will be Killua and Gon vs Netero 🙂

    Like

    • “and the best thing about it is that next week will be Killua and Gon vs Netero 🙂 ”

      \(^-^)/ I can’t wait for that.

      “i mean sure it was hilarious in the manga and even more in the 99 anime but come on nobody likes a joke after 3 times- besides they can never do a better job than the ’99 manga so they were wise enough not to do it- other than that the exam doesn’t deserve more than 1 episode”

      I understand that the exam might not deserve two episodes but I think it might have been nice to have the egg part at the start of the next episode and squeeze the sushi part into this episode instead. =/ But I guess it comes down to whether we want to watch a rushed scene or have the seen gone from the script altogether.

      While you are right about them repeating the joke 3 times, it is a different medium and a different version of the show and that is the whole point of this series no? A remake of HxH. =) That’s why I would have preferred the sushi scene in.

      Like

  6. sekundescorridor

    This isn’t even a hunter challenge. The fact that they skipped the sushi part is the worst job they made. The sushi part gives the essence of the exam. It was to challenge them in a domain they didn’t know coz not all of the examinees know what is a sushi. It also is the part where menchi losses his temper due to hanzo’s mouth.

    This is the worst episode of all …. crap ……… what a let down .. .. im thinking not to see anymore episodes until the killua home invasion part.

    Like

    • “im thinking not to see anymore episodes until the killua home invasion part.”

      Lol. I am also looking forward to the Kilua home invasion part but that would probably fly by in a jiffy as well. =P

      Like

  7. Well it was okay. What they’ve done with the pig was refreshing. I still prefer the 99’s series version of this part but, it was cool that they were able to merge the objectives of the sushi part and the pig part in one, well kinda. What bothers me is yes the way how undeveloped Menchi’s character was portrayed.Well maybe the way the character’s were drawn contributed on how unnatural Menchi’s change of judgement was portrayed. Actually, I really don’t like the animation of this version because it’s somehow stiff to look at. @_@.i don’t know, there’s just something wrong with the animation. I can’t even imagine how the fight scenes will look. Maybe it’s how bright the colors are, I don’t know. I’m not actually that good in drawing, so maybe that’s just me.

    I have to agree about the pace it’s kind of rushed… but despite the flaws, as a fan i will not get tired of giving this series a chance coz i just want to watch HunterxHunter again. :< Oh, and i prefer the pink Menchi, green just doesn't cut it out for me. hehe.

    Like

    • “Oh, and i prefer the pink Menchi, green just doesn’t cut it out for me. hehe.”

      Same here, Green reminds me of the President’s assistant being green. =P
      Well, the upside is that they did not make her skin green instead. =D

      “I can’t even imagine how the fight scenes will look. Maybe it’s how bright the colors are, I don’t know. I’m not actually that good in drawing, so maybe that’s just me.”

      The animation does seem a bit disappointing. It is definitely not the most fluid animations around and there are way too many still/repetitive scenes. =/

      Like

  8. I miss the sushi, but removing it does not take away anything from the main plot in the end so it’s not a big deal, and if you never saw the old series or read the manga your not missing much, I know many friends that are enjoying the new series and don’t have to compare it to the others.

    Like

    • “I know many friends that are enjoying the new series and don’t have to compare it to the others.”

      Well, the series does move at a fast enough pace in such a way that it becomes entertaining to watch since there is not a boring moment.

      What you had said about not missing much is true, but I am just worried that this means that they would be culling scenes that may have been good or fun to watch.

      There is of course the unexplained disappearances of all the Kite flashbacks as well. =/

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

