Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai – 06 Impression

Episode 6 – The Karaoke Box Doesn’t Have Many Customers (つд⊂)
aka An Idiot and A Meat Can Fill The Karaoke Box

Seems like love is in the air with this episode.

I know I had complained about the lack of Sena and Yozora interactions ever since the new crew had been introduced, but this episode’s format is definitely something I would love to see more of.

Impression

When I had mentioned the episode format, I was referring to how the episode focuses on the relationship between Yozora x Sena x Kodaka whilst the rest of the characters have very minor roles that utilizes their short screen time to the fullest by showcasing the best of the character’s personality. The shining star of the supporting cast is naturally our residential perverted professor Rika. (That girl needs to get laid. =P)

Everyone is out of their uniforms…. or not.
I guess the awkward personalities of the characters actually makes the whole limited wardrobe trope possible. =P

Like I had said, the majority of the episode had focused on Yozora x Sena x Kodaka and their growing love story. This episode had placed a big focus on the constantly bantering between Yozora and Sena and it was pretty fun to watch. However, I did feel that as the episode had progressed, that “joke” had gotten a tad repetitive and that was when I had welcomed the breath of fresh air with Rika’s perverted comments.

One particular scene that felt like it had been overdone was the scene with Yozora taunting Sena about being able to join everyone on the trip to the karaoke lounge. That had felt like the writers had dragged that scene on, but then again, when you think about it, the fanservice with the poking and prodding coupled with the fact that it was Sena and Yozora kinda makes up for the tedious mood of that scene. =P

As for the whole Sentimental Moments in this episode, well, they had felt a bit random and sudden since we had not seen much “romantic interest” amongst the 3 apart from some light hinting. Whereas this episode sets itself up for the possibly of escalating the romance in this show and turn it into an all out brawl for Yankee boy Kodaka. =) (I know some of you want to be in his shoes) How this plays into the overall plot progression? Well, I think that it is good to see that the plot is finally getting a move on with the characters addressing the main purpose of the club and the romance is finally building up with a decent backstory to both of the main coupling – KxS and KxY

As for my favourite scenes of the episode, it would have to be the joint karaoke song between Yozora and Sena since it actually sounded nice. Also, the whole karaoke pricing system joke was pretty funny and I applaud the two of them for coming up with such a horrible (and mean) solution (but it is so like them to do that). =P Rika’s joke about the microphones were also pretty funny and oh-so-wrong on purpose.

Episode Rating: 7/10

Overall, the episode may not be awesome but it is definitely a step up from the last for me. I am not sure if it was as funny as the other episodes but it was definitely more of what I would like to see in this show – which is light comedy, nice team dynamics and no Maria. =P Since this series is definitely meant to be a relaxing watch, it has definitely done it’s job in making me chuckle a few times and the show proven to still have it’s charm despite the new characters.

-ra

Well, am off to sleep since 2am. =P *yawn*

Question of the Day:

What is the longest Karaoke session that you have had?

Mine was with my friend and we did a marathon from noon until 8 including dinner. =P We were meant to be there until 5pm but ended up hooked to the machine and didn’t want to leave. XP

About Saranaufogus

An Anime fan who can't seem to keep her thoughts to herself. Find me on: Instagram | Twitter

Posted on November 11, 2011, in Anime, Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai, Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. My answer to the question : no karaoke parlor where I live. So we have to do it with games and I think the one that lasted the most was 2 hours. With a limited choice of 3 songs. Guess it wasn’t that bad 😄

    As for the episode, my greatest problem is : why did everyone sing and not Kobato DAMNIT?!
    Though the Sena/Yozora duet was nice to my ears nothing beats Kana Hanazawa

    Like

    • “no karaoke parlor where I live”

      Lol, aw man, where you live is starting to sound further and further way from the city.
      Well, you dont need a Karaoke Box to go and party, just up some music and have some fun at home with the lyrics on hand! =D That oughta be fun. When you said games do you mean those Rock Band/ Guitar Heroes World Tour games? Those are really mindless fun! (especially since the judging system is somewhat hilarious)

      “why did everyone sing and not Kobato DAMNIT?!”

      LOL!!! Awww.. you poor thing…kukuku =P

      Like

  2. I agree, this flow works well, although I was hoping that the romantic elements wouldn’t be so broadcasted, its definitely still funny, but there’s that fear that its gonna turn into more drama than this series should have at one time. Still, I got my Sena vs Yozora fun and I didn’t notice until the end of the episode that Maria wasn’t even there. Also if it is gonna skew towards romance no matter what, at least it looks like its only gonna focus on the two choices heavily so that works out for me.

    Longest karaoke session would’ve been maybe 5 or 6 hours, at a friends suite on campus with a home set. Surprisingly fun, regardless of singing ability. Of course a lot of the singing coincided with drinking so that time period may have been longer or shorter than it seemed.

    Like

    • “but there’s that fear that its gonna turn into more drama than this series should have at one time”

      Definitely! I agree that I am worried about it too, but the drama seems to be very slow paced so i doubt it would turn into anything melodramatic *fingers crossed* or overbearing.

      “Also if it is gonna skew towards romance no matter what, at least it looks like its only gonna focus on the two choices heavily so that works out for me.”

      ^-^b Sena and Yozora are the only ones I am interested in seeing Kodaka have a r/s with. The rest are pretty much mindless there for side entertainment.

      “Longest karaoke session would’ve been maybe 5 or 6 hours, at a friends suite on campus with a home set.”

      I don’t blame you, if it is on campus, I can just imagine it going the whole night long.

      “Of course a lot of the singing coincided with drinking so that time period may have been longer or shorter than it seemed.”

      Lol, the first time I had seen people drink and play drinking games while at a karaoke was a couple of years ago. Definitely something different. It is hilarious to see drunk people sing. (and a lot of fun too) =P Thank god I was sober to enjoy all of it. Muahaha.. wheres a video camera when you need it… sigh. 😄

      Like

  3. sorry, but Dora the explorer is way better than this!
    what with the “enter the video game” crap?
    how can the video game look and do what they want?

    Like

  4. Has anybody seen episode 11 yet? If so, pause at 4:31…You’ll see some cast from Ore No Imouto Ga Konna Ni Kawaii Wake Ga Nai!! I was pretty shocked to see them in this show…

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

