Chahayafuru – 08 Review

Episode 08 – Sounds of the Waterfall

I am hungry… and no… not for pork buns in particular. Although, hearing pork so many times did make me somewhat hungry. =P

Nishida makes a character comeback in this episode with Chihaya once again harassing people.
(Although I doubt the characters mind all that much since it is a beautiful girl harassing them)

Review

I am quite happy that we have been getting more club focus episodes and have not moved onto Arata’s current situation just yet. (I am having too much fun watching Taichi not being outshined by Arata.)

The episode starts off with Komano having a reformed impression of Karuta and is now enthusiastic about the game. I felt that his change in attitude was a tad extreme but I guess his character does take things to the extreme (just look at how he studies), so this is nothing different for him. If it were any other character, I would say that the change in attitude was too sudden.

Nishada – The ‘Pork’

The character introduction is somewhat different this week as compared to the previous two introductions. As Nishida has prior knowledge and experience of the game, Chihaya didn’t really have to “sell” Karuta to him. Also, where the last couple of introductions had the new club members introducing a new aspect of the game through their personalities, this episode had placed a bigger focus on developing Nishida’s character and mindset. It was nice to see his internal struggle that lead to his acceptance of Karuta. The change in his attitude was executed nicely and I didn’t feel like his acceptance of the game was sudden nor out of character.

As it is, it seems like this series is unable to go one episode without teaching the audience about Karuta (not that I am complaining).

This week, we get a more detailed explanation of the rules of the game and the different ways to “winning” the cards. I have to say that after this episode, all these different rules does open the game to a lot of strategic possibilities. Previously, I was wondering how the show would make a game about poems such as Karuta entertaining for the audience. However, I am now able to get a rough idea of how that could happen.

Prince of Tennis

There was a ‘Prince of Tennis’ moment in the show when Chihaya was talking about Nishida playing tennis according to the timing of the recital of poems. I am not sure how that would work but I shall believe Chihaya. (I know that believing her might be a recipe for disaster but =/ you know… pretty face and all… =P)

Which brings me to the corny moments in the show. Was I the only one who felt that this episode did have it’s fair share of tacky and corny lines? I love the show, but I really wish that I wouldn’t have to worry about cringing at the way certain lines are delivered. For me, majority of the blame would fall upon Chihaya’s shoulders. Her optimistic and over-enthusiastic attitude allows her to turn a normal situation into something overly cheery, which then leads to it sounding somewhat lame.

Then we have the statement that Taichi had made about Chihaya being able to “hear the next syllable”. That is a tad too supernatural for me. I would rather something more realistic and down-to-earth since we now know that the game doesn’t need things like that to spice things up. I mean, we all knew that this was going to happen ever since we had heard the praise about Chihaya having good ears, but I would rather they simply brush it off as Chihaya relying on her gut instead of wrapping the situation in an awe-filled aura. =P (I know that they called it instinct, but they did play that up quite a bit)

I love the look on Taichi’s face. Oh, and of course I love Taichi’s character as well. =D

Overall

Episode Rating: 7/10

The club is getting bigger and it now consists of 5 members. Which means…. The club is now an official club!! I guess no more new introductions next week?

Despite the fact that new characters are still being introduced 8 episodes into the series, the unique and interesting component each character brings to the episode means that I never feel that it was tedious to watch the series. Unlike how Persona 4 is still constantly introducing characters in a linear structure, this show manages to switch things up so as to ensure we get something different each week.

Hopefully, the next episode would have us seeing the club participating in an official tournament. =)

P.S:  The teacher felt really random. I had thought that her character was going to amount to something significant, but she was pretty much played up for no real reason. =/

-ra

I wonder if Nishida ate that Melon Bread after having picked it up.

Ra’s Question of the Day Corner

1) What’s your favourite bread? (It can be anything as long as there is bread in it =P)
2) Given the choice of being able to try any bread, what would you choose?

1) I love Asian Breads with the funky different ingredients that they have in each bread. I think my favorite would have to be Croissants though. I love the buttery flavor and the light and fluffy feeling I get when I munch on it. =D Stuff anything in a croissant and it would be awesome for me.

2) A proper dish stuffed into a croissant. Like maybe some Iron Chef dish XD. Truffles, some crazy awesome meat, lovely cheese and… I have this sinking feeling that the bread is going to turn into a really smelly bread.

All this talk about bread reminds me of Yakitate Japan!

I was so absorbed in that series that I had actually tried the rice cooker bread recipe that was in the show, and had eaten bread everyday for that whole week. =P Talk about getting influenced by a show. I am like the perfect marketing test subject for advertisements. I will buy stuff on impulse. I think I would even buy air given a creative enough campaign. =P

About Saranaufogus

An Anime fan who can't seem to keep her thoughts to herself. Find me on: Instagram | Twitter

Posted on November 23, 2011, in Anime, Chihayafuru, Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Wait, croissant qualifies as a kind of bread?
    Actually, they do sell croissant stuffed with cheese and ham over there, you put that on a microwave and tada~ a dish!
    My mother stuffs hers with butter. I like mine with honey. But my ultimate favorite are chocolate stuffed croissants!

    That being said, I’m not really knowledgeable about bread, they do sell any kind of baguette you can think of over there but it’s still regular bread and they taste more or less the same.
    I’ve always been curious about asian breads too, especially the ones you see in anime.

    Like

    • “That being said, I’m not really knowledgeable about bread”

      Have you seen Yakitate Japan! ? It is definitely a fun watch. =D

      And yes… croissants qualifies as a bread. As for asian breads. I have tried rip off version of japanese breads (there are stores that do Melon Bread etc. here but they taste quite bland and bad. not sure if that is how it is meant to taste) but I would really want to try some from japan.

      Like

  2. It’s so good that chihayafuru is still doing fine despite the fact that the game itself is not the type you would usually watch and cheer for. : ) I like the characters soooo, i really wish it’ll still be good in the long run : D

    speaking about characters 😄 i dunno why but the graphics is really pretty if either taichi or chihaya is on screen but it tones down when other characters are getting on the picture : D even with arata XDD does that mean that chihaya & taichi is that pretty? XDDD hahaha. or i’m not sure, that’s just what I observed.

    Ra’s Question of the Day Corner

    1) What’s your favourite bread? (It can be anything as long as there is bread in it =P)
    – oohh, i have lots, I love Curry bread, melonpan, French bread, pancakes? i mean their considered bread right? then Jelly Rolls & most especially piessss : D even though i’m asian, i don’t really eat rice like asians do.. I eat breads instead =)

    2) Given the choice of being able to try any bread, what would you choose?
    – I wanna make different kinds of pies : ) and any complicated breads that taste great n.n

    Like

  3. “speaking about characters 😄 i dunno why but the graphics is really pretty if either taichi or chihaya is on screen but it tones down when other characters are getting on the picture : D ”

    They do look really pretty.. they have been given the “flower” treatment! =D Love their hair the most! I think the funny thing is that their old Karuta sensei calls Taichi bushy-eyebrows, but he doesn’t look like he has bushy eyebrows at all.

    @question:

    “- oohh, i have lots, I love Curry bread, melonpan, French bread, pancakes? ”

    Erm… can pancakes be considered a bread? =D hahahahaha
    But I haven’t had a good curry bread!! I want… am still hungry. (I am such a pig) I actually went out and got a ham and cheese croissant for breakfast today.

    “even though i’m asian, i don’t really eat rice like asians do.. I eat breads instead =)”

    NOOO!!! Rice is so yummy! I love it. If I were to rank the carbs, Rice is definitely at the top, whilst bread is ties with french fries (aka, potato =P ).

    “- I wanna make different kinds of pies : ) and any complicated breads that taste great n.n”

    Complicated… How about the Yakitate Japan! version of Pain d’Epices? Dozens of ingredients. =D That show can make anything seem delicious.

    Like

  4. “They do look really pretty.. they have been given the “flower” treatment!”

    -no not about the backgrounds : D i mean the graphics… =w= i guess i must be imagining it.

    “Erm… can pancakes be considered a bread? =D hahahahaha”

    -It says a bread is a kind of food made of flour or meal that has been mixed with milk or water, made into a dough or batter, with or without yeast or other leavening agent. and the dictionary did says that pancakes are quick bread : D so yeah, i guess they are 😄

    “NOOO!!! Rice is so yummy!”

    -Lols, i’m such a crazy kid back then i thought of giving up rice to eat foods that i want more than rice, so now, i can live without it 😄 lololol.

    “Complicated… How about the Yakitate Japan! version of Pain d’Epices? Dozens of ingredients. =D That show can make anything seem delicious.”

    -IKR. 😄 haha, though i wanna make something realistic, coz i do bake when I have time, and i love learning new things : )

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

