Recorder to Randoseru – First Impression

Episode 1 – Atsushi and Atsumi

The show had turned out to be totally different to what I had expected.

I had expected this to be some form of slice-of-life series attempting to warm the viewers’ hearts. But instead, this first episode of the “3 minutes series” turned out to be more of a comedy than anything else.

Summary

“Miyagawa Atsushi is an 11-year-old boy who is 180 centimeters tall. Since he has a grown-up looking build but acts his age, he has always been running into troubles. On the other hand, his 17-year-old elder sister Atsumi is only 137 centimeters tall. Even though she has a childish looking build, Atsumi takes good care of Atsushi.” – My Anime List

The first episode follows Atsuhi as he prepares for a recorder exam and ends up being mistaken as a pervert due to his unusual “circumstances”.

Impression

To say that it was odd would be an understatement.

Seeing a manly and charming character such as Atsushi, act as a little kid was really, really, weird. The show definitely played up the whole “oddity” of his situation by turning, what would normally be a normal situation, into a comedic moment due to the circumstances.

There really isn’t too much to this series apart from it providing a few chuckles. So if you are wondering if it is worth your time, I would say that since it is only 3 mins long, it wouldn’t be too much of a waste of time as a random humorous watch. Whilst the jokes in this episode were humorous due to the concept being “fresh” in our minds, I feel that it might turn boring and dull to watch the show each week if the jokes were to only revolve around the siblings’ predicament.

-ra

Was this what you had expected it to be?

About Saranaufogus

An Anime fan who can't seem to keep her thoughts to herself. Find me on: Instagram | Twitter

Posted on January 6, 2012, in Anime, Recorder to Randoseru, Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Ok…umm…my first impression of this show? The animation is pretty decent but after seing the entire 3 minutes of this show( -_- if it really is a show…which I hardly doubt) I was a bit confused and frustrated because it left me wanting more, despite that it’s only 3 minutes. Anyway, during this skit I felt as if this show was seriously warning young views about child molesters(at least they’re showing concerns about the young audience who happens to watch something like this) but seriously…3 MINUTES?!! OH COME ON…I had popcorn and soda ready too….

    Like

    • Lol. I know, I was really shocked when I realised that it was only 3 minutes… =_=” And like you said, can it be considered a show if each episode is only 3 minutes long? I am not sure if we are going to be getting some form of on-going plot or if it is just going to be a bunch of short comedy each week. =/

      Like

  2. i was so expect this to be a heart-warming slice of life so but…well
    the “molesting” scene was kind of creepy though

    Like

  3. Uhm, thanks for reminding I already forgot about it… More or less I was expecting the same thing like anyone here. A nice SoL just like we had last year a couple of them ;). The story sounded so far interessting enough and so looked the characters.
    But that was dreadful, not even the three minutes stuff, it´s just like Pointman said it was creepy… And I´m sorry it is not my type of humor eighter. There are some shorts out there which are quite nice even if there short but this was a handfull of nothing.
    Tell me is it even worth to review? I mean it takes you more than three minutes to write a review for a three minute show… Every week? O_o

    Like

    • Lol! I won’t be reviewing the rest of this… I am just doing first impression reviews for stuff that I am watching… so you will have a bunch of reviews that wouldn’t be on the “weekly” list of reviews. =D

      Speaking of weekly.. =_=” I still have the review for the last episode of UN-GO to post…

      But yeap.. totally not worth my time.. takes 3 minutes to watch the show but it took me a lot longer to write up the review.

      Like

  4. I am really frustrated that it ended in 3 minutes.
    I checked myanimelist, only to find out that it’s just 3 minutes series.
    Waiting for one week after one week just to see something this short, gave really bad feeling. >_>
    They are using the excuse that he’s just 11 years old,
    but even so, is it normal for a 11 years old to open his coat like that,
    and insisted his female classmate to wear his scarf?
    What a creep.
    So yeah, he deserved the arrest.
    LOL.

    Like

  5. I kind of like these shows, it’s like watching a couple of animated 4-strip comics. My favorite part from this was the reference to Morita-san wa Mukuchi in the beginning (Morita-san was the show that had episodes 3 minutes long last season).

    Like

    • “I kind of like these shows, it’s like watching a couple of animated 4-strip comics.”

      It had definitely felt that way, but I wished that they had switched “Kill me baby” with this series and have “Kill me baby” be the 3min series.

      Like

      • “It had definitely felt that way, but I wished that they had switched “Kill me baby” with this series and have “Kill me baby” be the 3min series.”

        I share that sentiment exactly.

        Like

  6. I lay on my bed and pretend I am a banana

    I am just praying they don’t make more series that are this short :/

    Like

  7. I wasn’t interested in this at all, but now that I’ve seen it…. well, it’s just so creepy and has so many possibilities for really really inappropriate humor, that it might be quite funny.

    Besides the obvious flasher/molester moment, I thought the funniest (and creepiest) part was when the high-school aged friend expressed attraction for Atsushi (the 11-year old “boy”). If she doesn’t know the deal already, she’s in for a very big surprise at some point. 🙂

    All in all, it’s a completely cringe-worthy premise. But, even if it’s for all the wrong reasons, it might be hard not to laugh during this show.

    Like

    • “If she doesn’t know the deal already, she’s in for a very big surprise at some point. :)”

      I did like that moment and hopefully the show would be able to develop it.

      From what I know, the manga only has 2 volumes out so maybe that’s why each episode are 3 minutes.

      Like

      • I’m not going to get my hopes up for much development in this series, simply because each episode is so short.

        Are mangas with as few as two volumes out usually adapted into animes?

        Like

      • “Are mangas with as few as two volumes out usually adapted into animes?”

        I don’t remember seeing mangas with only 2 volumes out being adapted into anime. Usually there is at least a big more material for the studios to work with. =/ I mean, unless they do it in this 3mins fashion, the series would end up diverging from the original storyline very early on. =/

        Like

    • Because she’s her onee-chan’s friend who walks to school together,
      there’s a possibility that she has known already,
      shotacon detected, lol

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

