Japan Spends More Money on Bread Over Rice

I came across this interesting (but rather random) article and though I’d share it with you guys.

Seems like Azuma from “Yakitate Japan!” can rejoice as a recent survey done in Japan has showed that Japan households spend more money on bread over rice.

“The average household spent £214 on rice last year, marking a 4.1% drop in rice purchases compared with the previous year.

Meanwhile, spending on bread rose by 0.2% to £218 per household, according to findings of an Internal Affairs Ministry survey.”

I’m definitely skeptical over how the survey was conducted and how accurate it is but… I think it’s interesting to note that there definitely is an increase in bread consumption in Japan.

So my question to you is, what’s your bread consumption like? How often do you eat it?

Personally, I grew up eating rice and I’ve only started to eat bread everyday out of convenience.

If I were left with a choice of either having rice or bread for the rest of my life, I think I would have to stick with rice. What about you?

-ra

About Saranaufogus

An Anime fan who can't seem to keep her thoughts to herself. Find me on: Instagram | Twitter

Posted on May 7, 2012, in News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. I grew up eating bread, but I think that trend is potentially bad. Processed sugar and all that. Stick with rice. 🙂

    Like

  2. Rice is good but it takes 12 minutes to get ready 😉

    I think bread is not that bad, it is a matter of quantity mostly, so I am going to eat both.

    Like

  3. On a choice of either rice or bread, I’d have to stick with bread. Bread may indeed me less healthy, but I’m sure that I’d get bored of rice after four days.

    Like

    • awww…how come you’ll be bored of rice so quickly?

      There can be so many variations… rice desserts, rice porridge, rice cakes, rice noodles, white rice, fried rice, and for the healthy ones… brown rice…. *shudders* =P

      What type of bread do you usually eat?

      Like

      • Rice cakes are my favorite 😀

        Like

      • Well, I usually only have white, brown, or fried rice. So, the fact that rice looks less interesting could just be the result of my boring meal choices. As for what kinds of bread I enjoy, I choose from white, wheat, Italian, French, Irish soda bread, sourdough, dinner rolls, and a wide assortment of sweet breads. Everyone considers me a great cook, so the variety of breads available to me is just limited by how much time and effort I want to put into making them.

        Like

      • @medievalotaku

        You should really try some of the other varieties of rice like fried rice noodle. =D You can find decent recipes online =D

        “Everyone considers me a great cook, so the variety of breads available to me is just limited by how much time and effort I want to put into making them.”

        I admire your patience, i always find myself too lazy to wait for the bread to rise etc etc.

        Like

  4. It’s been some time, Sara. 🙂
    As someone born from a chinese family, I eat rice from the time I was born.
    There are more and more other families who eat bread as their breakfast nowadays, but I barely eat bread once a month. Other than rice, I eat cookies and drink tea when I am alone. Coffee when I am gathering with friends.
    Oh yeah, I once read an article about slow breaking carbohydrates and fast breaking carbohydrates, and blood sugar. The conclusion is, rice is definitely healthier. But of course, eating rice with pork chops is worse than eating plain white bread. LOL.

    Like

    • Yes, it’s been some time but It’s good to be back! =D

      Cookies!!! I love cookies and cakes!! I think I would rather have cakes and cookies over bread. But convenience is such a good persuading factor.

      “The conclusion is, rice is definitely healthier. But of course, eating rice with pork chops is worse than eating plain white bread. LOL.”

      Lol! There is no such word as healthy eating in my dictionary so… not much of an issue there. =P You should see the bread that I eat.

      Like

  5. Isn’t it just because bread is more expensive that rice? XD

    That being said, as much as I love rice, bread is tastier and more diverse so, I’d go for bread.

    Like

    • Good point about the pricing! Lol….(long time no chat kuuki)

      But I would like to hope that the survey people were smart enough to consider this and factor it into their findings. lol.

      But who knows anyway… the thing is that more cash is spent on bread as compared to previously.. then again, it could just be inflation.. =D

      “That being said, as much as I love rice, bread is tastier and more diverse so, I’d go for bread.”

      You are right about the diversity of bread. Especially when you factor in bread with other ingredients like sausages, chocolate swirls and what not.

      Like

      • Technically they wouldn’t have to consider that fact since they just talk about the price spent on either.
        Surveys are tricky.

        You know, in France, you have litterally whole walls covered with different kinds of bread in bakeries, and it’s just baguettes, that means there’s much more

        Like

Please Leave a Reply

