How Being An Otaku Can Influence Trade

Who needs big graphs and detailed studies of the economy to get out of a global recession when being an Otaku is so effective? =P

Here’s another post on a interesting article that I had stumbled across.

Essentially, the article speaks about how the popular manga/tv-series “Kami no Shizuku” had managed to influence the buying habits of the Otakus which had led to a 20% increase in wine sales in Japan.

Snippet:

“But the enormous impact the wine manga “Kami no Shizuku (The Drops of the Gods)” has had on wine sales across Asia cannot be shrugged off with a boff of Gallic unconcern. Just two days after the issue with that particular comment came out, a Taiwanese importer sold 50 cases of Mont-Perat.

Thus, when the French version — titled “Les Gouttes de Dieu” — was published in France last week, it came out in a storm of media attention.

“We had a team from French TV in Japan for the last month interviewing the authors for a report on the increasing sales of wine in Japan, which — due to ‘The Drops of the Gods’ — are said to be up by more than 20 percent,” says Stephane Ferrand of Glenat, the manga’s publisher. “

Although it is not surprising when it comes to people having been influenced by what they see through the media, it is interesting to see the type of effect something can have on a country’s trade.

So to make myself happy, I shall proclaim that all the money I am spending on “otaku-like” stuff is for the better of mankind and that things like going nuts over bread after watching ‘Yakitate Japan!’ is normal.

So… What’s show/story has influenced you the most and what have you done due to having seen it?

For me it really has to be ‘Yakitate Japan!’

After watching the show, I had gone off and bought bread to eat and was eating that for the weeks to follow. I even attempted the “Rice Cooker Bread” recipe that was in the show. That was the start and end of my bread baking career. =P

-ra

About Saranaufogus

An Anime fan who can't seem to keep her thoughts to herself. Find me on: Instagram | Twitter

Posted on May 9, 2012, in News. Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. That was a nice article. As a low level oenophile, I read an excerpt from this manga which Otaku USA put in their magazine. The connosieur portrayed in the excerpt was in ecstacy over a 1er Cru Bourdeaux, which, I’ll admit, is quite possible. Being mentally transported to the Garden of Eden as Adam embracing Eve seems a little much on the other hand. But, it’s nice that wine’s popularity is growing because of it.

    Though, the number of wine lovers in Asia have been growing before this manga appeared. Singapore and Hong Kong are particularly known for their love of exorbitantly expensive and rare wines–which they’re not hesitant to open up, unlike most Western wine snobs.

    As for the anime which most influenced me to do something, it would have to be Hikaru no Go. I picked up the game, and soon my extraordinary skill–to my chagrin–earned me the nickname of “the go rapist” from my college victims–I mean, friends! But, I will say that one of them picked up enough skill to actually surpass me, though I did claim victory in our last game, winning by 1.5 points.

    I also had the opportunity of playing a professional go player in college. To whom, I generally resigned or lost by a hundred points–even with a six stone handicap. They’re really quite amazing.

    Like

    • “Singapore and Hong Kong are particularly known for their love of exorbitantly expensive and rare wines–which they’re not hesitant to open up, unlike most Western wine snobs.”

      Lol, I totally understand what you mean having grown up in Singapore and have known people who open bottles of wine worth a couple of grand over a normal dinner. Totally extravagant but the flavour of the wine is amazing.

      That was one of the reason’s why I had actually watch the J-Drama.

      “As for the anime which most influenced me to do something, it would have to be Hikaru no Go”

      Go eh? Cool stuff! I loved how Hikaru no Go had made the game appear so cool and complex, but at the same time, because of how complex it had looked, I never really bothered to try the game out. (That plus I don’t know people who play Go.)

      “To whom, I generally resigned or lost by a hundred points–even with a six stone handicap. They’re really quite amazing.”

      Is it like in the anime where it’s like a battlefield? 😉 After all, chess is an intense game so I would assume Go to have that similar feeling to it.

      Like

  2. I can’t really say any anime or manga has especially modified my buying habits (being poor relieves me of the burden of choice) but it is interesting to see market trends being affected my otaku. Reading about some of these wine connoisseurs makes them seem a little coocoo to me. The way they wax poetry about something as simple as how their favorite beverage tastes is a little… obsessive. That said, I will never turn down a glass of champagne, especially if it’s free. 😛

    Like

    • “(being poor relieves me of the burden of choice)”

      I can feel your pain T^T My bank account is on a diet right now… a diet that would make an anorexic envious.

      “The way they wax poetry about something as simple as how their favorite beverage tastes is a little… obsessive. ”

      My dad was that way as well.. he would describe the wine to me (not in such a crazy manner) and he even had an encyclopedia of sorts which had the ratings of the different wines and the amount of points the connoisseurs had given them. But who am I to complain when I am just as nuts about chocolate. =P

      If I am not wrong, one of the better years for French wine was the 1982 range where the bottle of wines for that year was generally more expensive across the board due to the quality of the crop. (then again, my memory might be failing me)

      Like

      • “I can feel your pain T^T My bank account is on a diet right now… a diet that would make an anorexic envious.”

        HAHAHAHA!!! Brilliant!

        Me too! 🙂

        Like

  3. So, will Sakamichi no Apollon do the same thing for Jazz and all the clothing and gear promoting the anime?

    Like

    • Lol, I actually have to say that whilst the first episode of Sakamichi had me hoping for an awesome Jazz anime, eps 2 and 3 were lacking in the Jazz department.

      I haven’t seen ep 4 and 5 yet… but I am hoping for some improv Jazz.

      Ever since my brother introduced me to that style of music when I had gone back to Singapore for a holiday… I couldn’t shake off the feeling of how fun it was. One of the clubs in Singapore has an open mic night for improv and he and his friends were jamming with random people live and it had looked like so much fun.

      Sadly though, since this is music we are talking about and personal preferences… I would doubt that there would be much impact on the trade, but I can see that the best case scenerio would be that there might be a change in direction of what type of songs appears on the popular music charts. =/

      Like

      • I’m sure your right about the trends. Too much to hope for, though there might be some people looking into older jazz. As to the jazz on the show, I hate to tell you this, but I seriously doubt they’ll get into improv (though for your sake, I hope I’m wrong). Given the time period setting, the series will probably just sample jazz popular in that era. That doesn’t bother me much, sense my jazz tastes run to older or New Orleans style. I do wish, as someone mentioned before, that somehow all the pieces played would be referenced so that searching would be easier.

        I’ve been reading the manga just far enough to keep pace with the anime. There are a couple of pretty significant details that have been dropped in the anime so far. I’m curious to see if they insert them later, which they could easily do. Other than that it is pretty much identical to the manga. One interesting change, in the fight seen where Bon is saved from the school bullies, instead of headbutting the main bully, in the manga he ends up tripping and falling head first into a well. Same slapstick but not the same impact relationship wise, at least not to me. I’m looking forward to watching today’s episode. Complications. 😉

        I was wrong about the soundtrack…partly. It was released that day, but in Japan. I suppose one can still order it online. No sign of it on iTunes. They’re an awfully picky lot (not much anime at all). I thought they might grab it since Kanno had a hand in it, but no such luck. To further the mood for Sakamichi, you might want to watch the following (though I’ll warn you that it is a bit slow-paced): http://youtu.be/GbsixuOyHfo

        Like

  4. Nice blog post now they can’t say much more that anime is only for kids….
    to know how anime help also to promote business…

    long live for the anime lovers out there!!!!!

    what do you think do anime still called for kids only!!!????

    Like

    • “Nice blog post now they can’t say much more that anime is only for kids….”

      I know what you mean.

      I’ve recently developed a habit of watching anime on my laptop on my way to work and the looks people give me on the bus is weird when they see that I am watching anime. They look as though they think that I am watching a cartoon. =_=

      Like

    • I am so tired of hearing people make the worn-out “anime is for children” claim too. So silly.

      It’s awesome how anime is influencing interest in new purchases, but not hard to believe since anime has made us go crazy for merchandise already lol.
      Even though my bank account may not be much bigger than most of yours, my latest obsession is http://www.toonusa.com They can draw almost anything you want in anime form and put it on decor and clothing…who wouldn’t want that??!!

      Like

  5. just ignore them because they don’t know even a glimpse of your attention…:)

    Like

  6. I am sure this article has touched all the internet users, its really really
    good piece of writing on building up new weblog.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

