Mirai Nikki – 06 Impression

Episode 06 -Vibrate Mode

Here is my one day late impression of Mirai Nikki.

This episode had felt partially like a recap episode of the series up until now. But like I had said, it was a partial recap since the plot does progress a slight bit in this episode.

I know it a tad late in the game for me to have just discovered the “mini movie” things at the end after the EDs. I usually simply turn off the show once the ED is done as I don’t want to spoil myself by watching the trailer for the next ep. =P So if you are like me and don’t watch pass the ED, then you might want to check out those little segments they have after each episode because it is pretty entertaining and a lot better than some of the other series that do this after-episode “corner” thing.

Impresssion

The best thing about the episode? Lots of Yuno and Yuki moments. =) Oh, and Yuki’s mother comes into the picture.
Is this the season for quirky mothers? (referring to Kaname’s mother from Kimi to Boku)

Although this may not have been packed with crucial scenes, the story does well in integrating a mini recap into an on-going plot instead of simply wasting a whole episode on doing a full recap of the series thus far.

First we have Yuki doing the recap on Yuno’s past actions followed by Minene doing a recap on the Temple situation.

Then we have the scene with Deus ex Machina who just proved to us that he is more of a pervert than Yuno. I mean, he was watching Yuki in the toilet for crying out loud. I understand that the monitor is probably set on auto and he is watching over all of the players, but it is plain disturbing for him to be looking at Yuki in the toilet. =_=” Also, in that scene, his assistant had given us a low-down on the rules of the game and essentially eluded to the fact that a new player would be entering the picture soon. I am not sure if I like all the hints that the show drops as it really does “pad” the impact of a situation and takes away the element of surprise.

Then we have Yuno in the toilet doing a flashback of her house (the lighting in the flashback was really quite bad, it had appear almost black on my screen).

Following that was Yuki’s recap on his love life with Yuno. I think that this sums up all the recaps in the episode. I am not sure if I had missed something but feel free to point it out if I did.


Now back to Yuno.

Man, her stalkerish tendencies in this episode takes the cake when it comes to the whole notion of pleasing the mother-in-law. Although, usually it doesn’t come with a disclaimer saying that “you had better like me, or I am going to kill you”. The part with the tools was the first time in the series where I had felt scared of Yuno. I am usually excited by her crazy and psychotic tendencies but this scene just gave me the creeps. This is probably since she usually kills to protect Yuki, whereas in this case, she would have been willing to kill Yuki’s mother just to have him for herself. It was quite obvious that her “protection” of Yuki only goes as far as to ensure she gets Yuki and not due to really protecting Yuki’s interest. (Which she had stated in this episode during the bedroom scene that had taken place during the night). Which begs the question of what sort of character mold is she suppose to fit into? Is she meant to be a character who will kill everyone that stands in the way, or is she a character who would kill Yuki if she can’t have him? Also, I wonder what her problems did she have with her parents to have given her such a twisted personality when it comes to relationship. She did kill her parents after all right?

Taking a step away from creepy Yuno and onto adorable Yuno. The scene in the closet was quite hilarious and entertaining to watch. Yuno had actually reminded me of a dog with her eagerness to be let out. Of course, it is always fun to see Yuki being placed in a tough situation and constantly tormented. Yuki should just accept the fact that he is stuck with Yuno and stop fighting the inevitable, especially since he is such a weak character (at least for now).

You can take what is being said in that image however you wish to. =P

As for Yuki’s mother, I am assuming that her role in this situation is just to push the plot forward and to help with the relationship between Yuki and Yuno.

The introduction of Houjou Reisuke as the new diary holder was no shock due to all the hints in the episode. We have the Deus talking about the introduction of a new player whilst watching Reisuke through the monitor, then we have Minene’s doctor talking about him wanting revenge. My only issue is that I wonder if Reisuke will continue this act of “accidental murder” when it comes to taking his revenge on Yuno. =P Although it was nicely executed, it does remind me of a comedy act. =P

Episode Rating: 7/10

Overall, although it was not an amazing episode that leaves me wanting to immediately rant to you about it, it was still a good episode. The show has really grown on me and I am looking forward to seeing each episode each week. It is also nice to see all the links starting to form within the players in the game.

-ra

Ra’s Mirai Nikki Question of the Week:

As I had mentioned above, what category do you think Yuno falls under? Possessive or Obsessive?

  • Possessive : Willing to kill off her crush if it means preventing others from getting to him
  • Obsessive: Willing to kill off the competition so as to have him for herself.

Although we have seen how willing she was to do either, I don’t think that she has actually killed off any of the competition nor has she killed Yuki. =P

I am leaning towards Possessive with her probably being more inclined to kill Yuki as oppose to killing off all the competition since she would see his actions as a betray of sorts? =/

About Saranaufogus

An Anime fan who can't seem to keep her thoughts to herself. Find me on: Instagram | Twitter

Posted on November 15, 2011, in Anime, Mirai Nikki, Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Yuno is an Obsessive type, but make no mistake, she truly “loves” Yuki.

    The unique part of her situation is that she does not actually understand what she does to him when she threatens the people around him, how she causes him pain when she attacks his friends or family under the logic of being with him.

    For her, its just about her and Yukki. Because she feels that he’s the only one who ever cared about her for real, its multiplied several fold. Its only when her mental imbalance comes into play along with this sentiment that the murderous switch turns on and she feels compelled to eliminate any wrinkled edges by any means necessary.

    Sometimes it happens slowly, other times it can happen immediately.

    Just don’t forget that Yuno is a much more complicated character than a simple crazed stalker with murderous intent. She has a past and reasoning of her own.

    Like

    • “Just don’t forget that Yuno is a much more complicated character than a simple crazed stalker with murderous intent. She has a past and reasoning of her own.”

      Oh definitely, I actually see her as being a kid with a lack of emotional development.

      She definitely can’t comprehend the whole concept of family but then again, it is probably due to her own family and that might be her reason for her detachment from being able to understand Yuki’s love for his mother.

      “Yuno is an Obsessive type, but make no mistake, she truly “loves” Yuki.”

      What do you think of her statement about not allowing anyone to change their happy ending, even Yuki. =_=” (I suddenly have a very disturbing image of her raping Yuki’s corpse =_=”)

      Like

      • I think that she REALLY wants to be with him “in that way”. I doubt that she has any actual malicious(read: murderous) intent towards him when she says that, only that she won’t allow him to change the thing she looks forward to with him.

        Its hard to not spoil anything for you (I’ve read the manga several times already -_-;)

        But i will say that Yuno’s entire mental imbalance started with her parents, and spiraled out of control unchecked.

        Back in the shower scene, i don’t think the anime portrayed it well, but as soon as she thought back to her own mother due to the overly doting nature of Yukki’s mother, she became immediately traumatized due to the image of her corpse and seized up.

        Much different than the seemingly unfazed sociopath we’ve seen previously.

        http://www.mangafox.com/manga/mirai_nikki/v03/c010/27.html
        http://www.mangafox.com/manga/mirai_nikki/v03/c010/28.html

        Granted, Yuno’s possessive feelings go beyond parent in nature to the point where even friends of Yukki’s are looked upon as people who may take Yuki away from her. We’ve seen it previous with Tsubaki(even though she was an antagonist obviously) and we’ll see it even more in the future.

        Like

      • “But i will say that Yuno’s entire mental imbalance started with her parents, and spiraled out of control unchecked. ”

        It does seem like the case. Well, I am just looking forward to when her backstory would be revealed ^^ Would be nice to see her becoming more “emotional” when it concerns things unrelated to Yuki.

        Like

  2. Very much BOTH, but I will refrain from making concrete examples at this point. For her obsessive nature, just brace yourself for the next arc =)

    Like

  3. Nah. She is Obsessive Compulsive, clearly.

    “I suddenly have a very disturbing image of her raping Yuki’s corpse”
    Actually, you may not be that far from the mark =)

    Like

  4. I agree with Ida. Yuno is closer to the Obsessive, rather than the possessive type. She doesn’t “possess” Yukiteru yet…

    As the classic Yandere, Yuno is the fine line between deredere & yanderu. Even better is how she switches between them smoothly. More important is the fact that Yuno’s dere is authentic, rather than a phony excuse for some deeper complex. This is why the normal moments are actually soaked through with tension.

    Nietzsche said it best: Is it not better to fall into the hands of a murderer
    than into the dreams of a woman in heat?

    😀

    Like

    • “Nietzsche said it best: Is it not better to fall into the hands of a murderer
      than into the dreams of a woman in heat? :D”

      Lol, I don’t know which is scarier. The one who spoke those words or the one who believe in what is being said. =P heh

      Like

  5. This episode was slower, but those little hints of crazy Yuno still keep it very interesting, I’d say she seems more obsessive than possessive, but you’re right in saying that she’s shown hints of both; i.e. the “I won’t let you change that future” part that’s been mentioned by others. I wouldn’t necessarily be angry at her for taking it into her own hands tho.
    Yuki is still too wishy washy for me to throw my full support behind him as a likeable character, last episode we saw him clearly kiss her in the van, this episode he got shy with her sleeping in the same room. He’s probably justified in being hesitant to sleep with her on account of how crazy she is, but taking that into account, it seems like its gonna happen sooner or later anyway. In any case, Yuki is essentially the type of person to be lucky to have any kind of sexual contact with a woman, so I was expecting more of an internal struggle of what to do with her in the room.
    It would probably be easier for him to jump on board while he still has those flashes of admiring her for all she’s done for him so far; and she brought him toilet paper, if nothing else, that’s all the proof I need to know she loves him lol.
    As for the new player, I can’t say what I think is going to happen with that situation, but it doesn’t seem like he’ll be a huge threat at the moment. Either Yuno was really lucky with the pillow, she has amazing reaction time, or she saw it in her diary beforehand, either way I see her staying relatively unscathed.

    Like

    • “Yuki is still too wishy washy for me to throw my full support behind him as a likeable character, last episode we saw him clearly kiss her in the van, this episode he got shy with her sleeping in the same room”

      Well, Yuki has always been way too wish washy for my liking =P

      And I did find his change in attitude odd, but when I thought about how tension situations can get people high on adrenaline, I guess his courage followed but usual fear is kinda justified.

      “Either Yuno was really lucky with the pillow, she has amazing reaction time, or she saw it in her diary beforehand, either way I see her staying relatively unscathed.”

      Well, her diary is about Yuki and that situation really had nothing to do with Yuki. I personally thing that Yuno knows that something is up and is just hiding it. We all know that she can act as well as a person with a split personality disorder. =D

      Like

  6. The scene with Yuno in the closet was amusing. She did look a curious animal trying to escape. I’m surprised she didn’t gt mad at Yukiteru for putting her in there in the first place.

    At the moment Yuno is obsessive but I feel that she may shift more towards possessive if Yukiteru tries breaking up with her or parting ways. Yuno already killed the guy with the mask and doubles so we know she has it in her to kill.
    Looking forward to more episodes. I’m just hoping it doesn’t get to crazy with the later characters in the series.

    Like

    • “She did look a curious animal trying to escape. I’m surprised she didn’t gt mad at Yukiteru for putting her in there in the first place. ”

      Good point, but I don’t think that Yuno has ever been angry at Yuki, I mean, Yuki is almost god like in her mind. Though I do want to know why she likes him so much.

      “Looking forward to more episodes. I’m just hoping it doesn’t get to crazy with the later characters in the series.”

      I am looking forward to seeing more but I *do* hope the characters become more and more intense and crazier as it goes on! =D
      (As long as it is not crazy in a ridiculous manner)

      Like

      • I’m okay with crazy but ridiculous might be a bit much for me.
        Yuki hasn’t really done much to make Yuno like him so much. I pray there is no scene which reveals a stupid childhood friends scenario which Yuki forgot.

        Like

      • “Yuki hasn’t really done much to make Yuno like him so much. I pray there is no scene which reveals a stupid childhood friends scenario which Yuki forgot.”

        Definitely true about the whole unexplained reason as to why Yuno likes Yuki, but I won’t try to reason with insanity. =P

        As for the whole stupid childhood notion. I also hope they don’t go down that cliche route. =_=” I want something unexpected.

        Like

Please Leave a Reply